Three MEPs elected to Agriculture Committee

Pat Gilhooley, Chairman, Leitrim IFA Co Executive, has welcomed the election of three Irish MEPs to the Agriculture Committee in the European Parliament.

Mr Gilhooley said Mairead McGuinness, Matt Carthy and Luke Ming Flanagan - need to work hard and together at EU level on the challenges that lie ahead for Irish farmers and the agriculture sector.

“Co-decision has given the European Parliament a much greater role in developing EU policy. Securing a good outcome for Irish agriculture in the EU trade negotiations on TTIP and Mercosur, the mid-term CAP review and climate change policy are all vital for the agriculture sector,” he said.

In addition he said the Agriculture Committee will have to tackle the excessive burden of bureaucracy, red tape and over regulation that is holding back farming.

Independent Deputy for Roscommon/South Leitrim has welcomed the appointment of Luke Ming Flanagan to the Committee.


Back to the top of the page