New Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach

editorial image

editorial image

Ballinamore Municipal Area’s Cllr Paddy O’Rourke was elected to the position of Cathaoirleach of Leitrim County Council at last Friday’s Annual Meeting.

Cllr O’Rourke was nominated by Cllr Caillian Ellis while Cllr Martin Kenny was nominated in a counter proposal by Cllr Padraig Fallon.

Winning the vote, Cllr O’Rourke said that he was very aware of the callibre of Cathaoirligh who had filled the position before him but was committed to carrying on their fine tradition of public service. He acknowledged that the reduction in councillor numbers would mean an increased workload but said he believed that everyone would work towards the betterment of their communities and the county.

The selection of Leas Cathaoirleach also came down to a vote between Cllr Sinead Guckian, proposed by Cllr Sean McGowan, and Cllr Des Guckian, proposed by Cllr Seadhna Logan.

Cllr Sinead Guckian was subsequently elected to the position with a majority vote.

The new Cathaoirleach, Cllr Paddy O’Rourke and Leas Cathaoirleach, Cllr Sinead Guckian, are pictured above in the Council chamber following their election.

Photo: Willie Donnellan


Back to the top of the page