Local appointments to Visitors Board

editorial image

editorial image

Two Co Leitrim men have been honoured with an appointment to the Board of Visitors of Kilmainham Gaol Museum.

John Toolan, Ballinamore and Seán McLoughlin, Aughavas were appointed by Minister of State at the Office of Public Works, Brian Hayes, TD.

Kilmainham Gaol is the primary historical resource of modern Irish political and penal history and will play a central part in the celebrations of the 100th anniversary of the 1916 Rising.

Members of the Board, who receive no payment or expenses of any kind, will advise the government on these events and commemorations in this important period of reflection and commemoration. At its inaugural meeting John Toolan was elected Hon. Secretary.


Back to the top of the page