27 May 2022

Griffin & Glancy post fast times in Dublin marathon - GALLERY

Leitrim athletes were out in force on the streets of Dublin last Sunday morning with Ballinamore AC’s Olympic race walker Colin Griffin leading the county’s runners home while Carrick AC’s Clive Glancy also turned in a very fast time.

Griffin took a minute off his previous best for the 26.2 mile distance at the SSE Airtricity Dublin City Marathon with a superb clocking of 2.28.17 and was on pace for a sub 2.27 clocking until the hills over the closing miles took their toll but he still averaged an impressive 5.45 per mile for the distance.

Clive Glancy was actually running in an Irish vest as part of the Garda team who were competing in the USPE European Police Marathon held in conjunction with the Dublin event. Clive also broke new ground with a new personal best of 2.35.07 as he averaged 5.56 a mile.

Adrian Gurn from Carrick AC clocked a speedy 3.03.26 with former Carrick Rower Mark Butler returning a time of 3.08.57.

According to our search of the  results, the fast Leitrim lady was Dromahair’s Lucina Dack 3.18.22 while Cora Regan from Drumshanbo AC, a sister of Olympian Breege Connolly, clocked 3.34.56

One of the most agonising near miss stories came from Kiltubrid’s Carmel Murphy who was just 28 seconds outside the four hour mark while Deirdre Nangle was 33 seconds outside the five hour mark.

The remaining Leitrim finishers according to the results are as follows:

Results: Alan Foley 3.19.37; Ailish Keane Drumshanbo AC 4.25.03; John Moran 4.20.28; John McGarry Drumshanbo AC 4.29.19

Diarmuid Keegan Ballinamore 4.29.18; Dermot Fearon 4.50.30; Deirdre Ferguson 5.00.33; David Lipsett 3.18.30

David O’Malley 4.33.23; Damien McCabe Drumshanbo AC 3.47.32; Conal Gilhooly 3.41.54;Collette Gallagher 4.38.11 

Ciaran Gilmartin 3.26.50; Lisa Keane 4.12.53; Cyril McKeon Drumshanbo AC 3.47.53; Linda Mollohan Drumshanbo AC 4.29.35

Georgina Daly 4.21.12; Niall O’Riordan 5.56.31; Niall Comerton 3.24.12; Edel MhicAmhlaidh North Leitrim AC 4.19.20

Paul Gilmartin 4.09.58; P.J. Ryan 4.46.51; Roisin Jenkins 4.14.30; Ronan McManus 3.23.39; Seamus Quinn 6.07.34

Sean Burke 4.15.09; Sean Ward 3.26.36; Terry McGinn 3.41.01; Mickey Cull 3.42.24; Micheal Comer 3.57.41

Pat Heffernan 3.58.20; Emily O’Brien 4.02.06; Keith Healy 4.06.21; Sarah Towey 4.21.54

Adrian Lyons 5.02.25, Tommy Ferguson 5.14.09. Fiona Shannon 5.50.45; Melissa McNamee 6.22.14

Tracey Harkin Drumshanbo AC 4.06.12; Enda Maxwell 5.09.21; Micheal Murtagh 6.11.42; Collette Dunne Drumshanbo AC 5.14.19

Jonathan Fahey 3.49; Aine Blessing Drumshanbo 4.26.07; Siobhan Doran 5.46.43; Stephen Crilly 4.20,27

Stephen Murtagh 4.08.06; Stephen Flynn 3.19.25; Neil Nolan 3.52.00; Michelle Bannon 4.38.45

Michael Corrigan 4.14.58; Marty Cawley 4.16.12; Mark Butler 3.08.57; Margaret Loughlin 4.37.20

Liam Ward 4.59.12; Karol Warnock 3.29.05; John O’Dell 4.01.23; John Creegan 3.33.00; John Conboy 3.56.58

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.