Search our Archive


Paddy Farrell has been elected as new Chairperson of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District

People are living in fear that a major accident will occur at a Leitrim junction

Cllr Paddy Farrell is the new Chairperson of Carrick-on-Shannon MD.

Fianna Fáil councillor, Paddy Farrell, has been elected as new Chairperson of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District, taking over the role from outgoing Chairperson, Cllr Finola Armstrong McGuire.

Cllr Farrell was elected unopposed to the role and, taking his new position, he acknowledged the difficulties of the past year but expressed a hope that the coming year will be a better one.

Cllr Enda Stenson was subsequently also elected unopposed to the position of Vice-Chairperson for Carrick-on-Shannon MD. 

Cllr Des Guckian however expressed his dissatisfaction at failing to be nominated and elected to either position stating he was "being excluded for the seventh time".

He accused his fellow Carrick-on-Shannon councillors of "letting yourselves down and demeaning your place as councillors" and said "my mandate is just as valid".  He warned councillors "it will do you no good in the long term because people are on to you big time."

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.