03 Jul 2022

Leitrim councillor walks out of AGM "in disgust" over chairperson election

Leitrim councillor walks out of AGM "in disgust" over chairperson election

Leitrim County Council

Independent Councillor Des Guckian walked out of the AGM of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District meeting this afternoon "in disgust" over the election of the new Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach.

Fianna Fáil's Cllr Paddy Farrell proposed his party colleague Cllr Sean McGowan for the role of Cathaoirleach. This was seconded by Fine Gael Cllr Finola Armstrong McGuire. 

Independent Cllr Guckian proposed himself for the role, but received no seconder and so Cllr Sean McGowan was deemed elected.

Cllr Guckian asked "Why won't the five other councillors support me?" he went on to ask "are they trying to cover something up?" He said they had no idea of the workings of democracy and announced he was leaving the meeting "in disgust."

After Cllr Guckian left, Independent Cllr Enda Stenson was elected Leas Cathaoirleach for the next term.

The Carrick-on-Shannon AGM and municipal district meeting was held in The Dock as works are ongoing to upgrade the council chamber. It is anticipated that the council chamber will be completed in time for the September meeting.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.