Leitrim Youth Groups receive grants from ETB

Last week youth groups from all corners of Leitrim were awarded grants under the Local Youth Club Grant Scheme 2013. 

Last week youth groups from all corners of Leitrim were awarded grants under the Local Youth Club Grant Scheme 2013. 

This scheme is funded by Department of Children and Youth Affairs and administered by Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim Education Training Board (formerly known as Co. Leitrim VEC).  

The work of the volunteer leaders in youth groups around the county was commended and praised at this event by newly appointed CEO of the ETB, Seosamh Mac Donncha. 

Mr Mac Donncha welcomed the opportunity to meet the volunteers and paid tribute to the work they do on a weekly basis. 

He went on to say that “I am aware that in Co. Leitrim, 168 volunteer leaders, working with 728 young people in youth groups throughout the county, are supported through this scheme.

“Volunteers are the unsung heroes of this country who play an important and central role in supporting and enhancing the personal and social development of young people.Tonight I pay tribute to you.”

Grants were provided to support groups with their ongoing running costs, including training, visiting other groups and organising various events and information evenings throughout the year.

A total of €9,425 was awarded to 20 clubs in Leitrim.

These clubs included North Connaught Youth & Community Service clubs, uniformed groups, Foróige clubs and a number of independent groups. 

On the night, Trevor Sweetman, Youth Officer with Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim ETB gave a presentation on the National Quality Standards for Volunteer-led Youth Groups that will be introduced for all youth groups funded under this scheme in the coming year.

According to Mr Sweetman,“Groups will be given an opportunity to reflect on these standards, assess if they need to do anything to ensure they meet them and put a plan in place to develop their group.”

Mr Sweetman assured groups that help will be at hand in relation to the standards, saying that “groups will be supported to reach the standards by their Development Officers and, in the case of independent groups, by the ETB Youth Officer.” 

Groups supported through the Local Youth Club Grant Scheme include:

1st Leitrim Scouts, Ballinamore Community Hall; 3rd Leitrim Group SI, Scout Den, Carrick-on-Shannon.

10th Leitrim Scouting Ireland, Dowra; Melvin Foroige Club, Kinlough, Fenagh Foróige; Carrick-on-Shannon Foroige Club.

Mohill Foroige Club; Foroige Manorhamilton; Eslin Foroige Club; Carrigallen Foroige Club; Drumsna Foroige Youth Club.

Drumreillly Foroige Club; No Limits Youth Club, Rivers Church, Carrick-on-Shannon; Bornacoola Youth Club - The Hive; Mohill Youth Café.

Cloone Youth Club; “The Base” Youth Café, NCYCS, Drumshanbo; The Shack, Manorhamilton.

Barleyfield Youth Group, Carrigallen and Drumkeerin Youth Café.