05 Dec 2021

McHale Park Scoreboard

2 mins: Mayo start in blistering fashion with points from a Cillian O’Connor free and Alan Dillon but Leitrim reply with a great Darren Sweeney point after good work from Shane Moran and Emlyn Mulligan.

2 mins: Mayo start in blistering fashion with points from a Cillian O’Connor free and Alan Dillon but Leitrim reply with a great Darren Sweeney point after good work from Shane Moran and Emlyn Mulligan.

6 mins: Daniel Beck bursts through to curl a shot over the Mayo bar after Enda Williams was unlucky to see a shot come off the post. Kevin McLoughlin responds instantly with a Mayo point.

8 mins: Mulligan levels from a 50 yard free, moved in for dissent.

13 mins: James Glancy is hammered by Mayo defenders as he shoots but Ray Cox is desperately unlucky as his attempted fisted effort flies inches wide.

15 mins: Keith Higgins charge down through the centre is rewarded with a fine point.

17 mins: Mayo’s defenders are proving dangerous as Lee Keegan runs on to a pass from Jason Doherty to point, Fabian McMorrow going into the book for a late hit on the Mayo corner-forward.

18 mins: Mulligan pulls back a point after the ball breaks kindly for him. Mayo go straight down the field for Dillon to score.

21 mins: A one-two on the sideline results in a magnificent Mulligan 50 yard point to leave just a point between the teams.

22 mins: GOAL – Mayo move the ball at speed to set Alan Freeman clear on goal. He appears blocked by Cathal McCrann but a small turn and a drop kick sees him smash then ball past McCrann to the Leitrim net.

23 mins: Danny Geraghty gets in to the scoring act with a point under pressure.

28 mins: Mulligan curls a wonderful 55 yard free over the Mayo bar and two minutes later, the Melvin Gaels man adds another after a foul on James Glancy.

30 mins: GOAL – Donal Vaughan charges through the centre after a pass from Geraghty and off-loads to Andy Moran who shows great composure to drill the ball to the net.

33 mins: O’Connor taps over a free after a high foul on Andy Moran and seconds later, Barry Moran made a spectacular catch from the kickout and charged right down the centre of the Leitrim defence to score.


1 mins: Kevin McLoughlin scores a lovely effort from the wing.

4 mins: Emlyn Mulligan puts over another free with O’Connor hitting four unanswered frees over the next eight minutes.

17 mins: GOAL - Just seconds after he arrived on as a sub, Michael Conroy splits the Leitrim defence with a pass to set up Andy Moran for his second goal.

19 mins: Another sub Ronan McGarrity points after a nice move from defence.

21 mins: Mulligan takes on another free with Alan Dillon replying a minute later and Varley adding a score.

30 mins: After Paddy Maguire was unlucky with an effort, Ray Cox finished off a great team move with a fine point.

31 mins: Mayo look as if they are breaking through again but Fabian McMorrow desperately pulls down sub Enda Varley with another sub Conor Mortimer putting over the free as McMorrow is sent off on a second yellow card. Conroy adds another point two minutes later.

34 mins: GOAL - A poor Leitrim pass is intercepted and Kevin McLoughlin somewhat needlessly hammers the ball to the net to complete the rout, Conor Mortimer finishes up the scoring a minute later with an easy point.



David Clarke; Kevin Keane, Ger Cafferkey, Keith Higgins (0-1), Lee Keegan (0-1), Donal Vaughan, Colm Boyle; Barry Moran (0-1), Danny Geraghty (0-1); Kevin McLoughlin (1-2), Cillian O’Connor (0-6), Alan Dillon (0-3); Jason Doherty, Andy Moran (2-0), Alan Freeman (1-0). Subs: Richie Feeney for Boyle (44 mins), Ronan McGarrity (0-1) for Geraghty (48 mins), Michael Conroy (0-1) & Conor Mortimer (0-2) for Doherty & Freeman (52 mins), Enda Varley (0-1) for A Moran (60 mins).


Cathal McCrann (Gortletteragh); Daniel Beck (Mohill) (0-1), Fabian McMorrow (Melvin Gaels), Paddy Maguire (Glencar/Manorhamilton); Colm Clarke (Drumkeerin), Enda Williams (Clonguish), Wayne McKeon (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s); Darren Sweeney (Glencar/Manorhamilton) (0-1), Shane Moran (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s); Paddy McGowan (St. Patrick’s Dromahair), Emlyn Mulligan (Melvin Gaels) (0-7), Paul Brennan (Melvin Gaels); Ray Cox (Annaduff) (0-1), James Glancy (Glencar/Manorhamilton), Adrian Croal (Glencar/Manorhamilton). Subs: Robbie Lowe (St. Mary’s Kiltoghert) for McKeon (8 mins), Conor Sheridan (Melvin Gaels) for Moran (HT), Brian McDonald (Glencar/Manorhamilton) for Croal (46 mins), Gerry Hickey (Glencar/Manorhamilton) for McGowan (56 mins), Kevin Conlon (St. Patrick’s Dromahair) for Lowe (63 mins).

Referee: Martin Higgins (Fermanagh).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.