27 Nov 2021

Tighe leads the way as Mohill gain some revenge

Padraig Tighe celebrates after scoring his goal in last Friday's Junior A Championship Final in Cloone. Photo by Willie Donnellan
Inspired by Man of the match Padraig Tighe, Mohill gained a small slice of revenge over St. Mary’s in the GWP Junior A Championship Final.

Inspired by Man of the match Padraig Tighe, Mohill gained a small slice of revenge over St. Mary’s in the GWP Junior A Championship Final.

Friday’s entertaining encounter under lights in Cloone saw Mohill dominate the first first half minutes before coming under immense pressure from a St. Mary’s side who cut a seven point gap down to just two with ten minutes left.

But two points and a killer goal from Tighe saw Mohill gain a small slice of revenge for their Senior Final defeat at the hands of the Carrick men just five days previously.

Indeed, the final featured quite a few who saw action in the Senior decider - Tighe was joined by Ronan Kennedy, John McGuinness & Stephen Conaty while Conor Farrell, Colm O’Reilly, Jimmy Guckian & Ray Mulvey all saw action for Mary’s.

St. Mary’s may not recovered from their celebrations but it was blindingly obvious from the way they warmed up and took to the field, Mohill were very much up for this game and they were first to the ball and showed far more appetite for the battle with Tighe proving the cutting edge of an impressive Mohill display.

Mohill got off to the best possible start when Oisin Madden’s run and pass ended with Ronan Kennedy blasting to the net after five minutes and despite two Colm O’Reilly points by the 15th minute, Mohill stormed into a lead with points from Seamus Kennedy (2), Tighe and Barry Lupton.

St. Mary’s made emergency repairs with Fergal Reynolds lending solidity to the defence but with Dermot Scollan tipping a Ray Mulvey shot away.

Kennedy and O’Reilly swapped points and with both teams missing good chances, Ray Mulvey and Tighe exchanged scores, leaving Mohill 1-7 to 0-4 in front at the halftime break.

Padraig Tighe thumped over a point that could have been a goal just right after the break but Colm O’Reilly got St. Mary’s back into the game when the Carrick men forced a turnover.

Cian McGuinness steadied Mohill with a fine point but Mohill saw Tighe denied a certain goal by a great save from Anthony Conway but a succession of points from O’Reilly saw Mary’s eat away at their lead to leave two between the teams with ten minutes to go.

Jimmy Guckian blasted a goal chance wide and Padraig Tighe made them pay with two fine points before he drilled a great shot to the Mary’s net with less than three minutes to go, Ronan Kennedy sealing the win with a late free while Ray Mulvey scored a late consolation for St. Mary’s.

Tighe, Seamus and Ronan Kennedy, Martin McDermott, Cian McGuinness, Michael Lynch, Shane Kilrane and Barry Lupton all impressed for the winners while Colm O’Reilly, Fergal Reynolds, Jimmy Guckian, Barry Crowe and Anthony Conway were best for St. Mary’s.

Mohill: Dermot Scollan, Shane Kilrane, Martin McDermott, Nathan Conboy, Oisin Madden, Paul Earley, Michael McGuinness, Barry Lupton (0-1), Cian McGuinness (0-2), Stephen Conaty, Seamus Kennedy (0-2), Padraig Tighe (1-5), Michael Lynch, John McGuinness, Ronan Kennedy (1-2). Subs: Shane McGowan for Lynch (42 mins), Johnny Kelly for McDermott (52 mins), Paul Foy for Kilrane (59 mins), John Farrell & Ciaran Baxter for J. McGuinness & S. Kennedy (62 mins).

St. Mary’s Kiltoghert: Anthony Conway, Cormac Flynn, Barry Crowe, Dermot Turley, Francis Molloy, James McGowan, Michael Greene, John Healy, Conor Farrell, Ray Mulvey (0-2), Jimmy Guckian, Daire Farrell, Cian O’Reilly, Colin McWeeney, Colm O’Reilly (1-6). Subs: Fergal Reynolds & Ross McLoughlin for Molloy & C. Greene (16 mins), Paul McGreevy & Damien Butler for Healy & D. Farrell (40 mins), Donal Butler for Cian O’Reilly (53 mins).

Referee: Brendan Sammon.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.