27 Nov 2021

Manchan’s much too powerful

Adrian Sorohan and Shane McGowan goes shoulder to shoulder during last Saturday's U21 Championship clash. Photo by Therese Foy
St. Manachan’s sent out a message that they will be one of the favourites for this year’s Under 21 A Championship crown with a destruction of St. Francis.

St. Manachan’s sent out a message that they will be one of the favourites for this year’s Under 21 A Championship crown with a destruction of St. Francis.

St Manchan’s 0-17

St Francis 1-4

The Mohill, Cloone and Eslin men were clear-cut winners in this quarter final clash in Fenagh on Saturday on a scoreline of 0-17 to 1-4.

St. Manchan’s, backboned by six members of Mohill’s Senior Championship Final team in Eanna Madden, Cillian Canning, Shane Quinn, Donal Flynn, Alan McLoughlin and John Mulligan, raced into an early lead with points from Shane Quinn, Shane McGowan, Oisin Madden & Cian McGuinness inside the first 10 minutes.

Shane Walsh opened the scoring for St. Francis in the 11th minute but John Mulligan replied immediately with two points from play.

Eanna Madden, who was a constant threat from wing back, added another point before Nicholas Moore struck from long range for St. Francis second score.

Daragh Gordon pointed for Manchan’s before each side spurned a goal chance with John Crawford missing the target and Diarmaid McKiernan making an excellent save.

Nathan Flynn & Nicholas Moore gave St. Francis hope with points in the 26th & 27th minutes but Eanna Madden had the last point of the half to leave his side with a 0-9 to 0-4 interval lead.

The first four points of the second half went to St. Manchan’s from Cian McGuinness, a John Mulligan free and a brace from Alan McLoughlin and although Nicholas Moore converted a penalty in the 48th minute after he was taken down in the box, it was as close as St. Francis came.

St. Manchan’s closed out the game in the last 10 minutes with points from John Mulligan, Shane McGowan & Alan McLoughlin (2).

St. Manchan’s: Emmet Higgins, James Mitchell, Ronan Reynolds, Nathan Conboy, Oisin Madden (0-1), Cillian Canning, Eanna Madden (0-2), Shane Quinn (0-1), Alan Armstrong, Shane McGowan (0-2), Donal Flynn, Alan McLoughlin (0-4), Daragh Gordon (0-1), John Mulligan (0-4), Cian McGuinness (0-2). Subs: Keith Keegan for D. Flynn, Joseph Stenson for C. McGuinness & Jonathan Beirne for D. Gordon.

St. Francis: Diarmaid McKiernan, David Wynne, Mark Gunning, Bryan Beirne, Barry Gilmartin, Adrian Sorohan, Ciaran Mattynsenns, Martin Beirne, Thomas Mulvey, John Crawford, Nicholas Moore (1-2), Shane Walsh (0-1), Nathan Flynn (0-1), Ryan Higgins, Patrick McGrail. Subs: Dylan McGowan for B. Beirne, Shane Beirne for P. McGrail & Padraig Clark for N. Flynn.

Referee: Seamus Mulhern.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.