27 Nov 2021

GWP Leitrim Intermediate Final

1 min: Cathal McCrann opens the scoring, taking a quick free from Darren Duignan to score.

1 min: Cathal McCrann opens the scoring, taking a quick free from Darren Duignan to score.

6 mins: After a few missed chances, including keeper Conal Clarke holding a deflected Christy McGowan shot, Paddy McGowan fires over from 40 yards after a quick free.

8 mins: John Evans put Dromahair in front with a brilliant point from the left wing but Dromahair continue to miss chances.

13 mins: A quick free out of defence is worked to Gerard Campbell for a fine Gortletteragh point from the wing.

17 mins: Gortletteragh go back in front when Cathal Quinn’s mazy run sees him find Eamon Reynolds in space as he fists the ball over the bar, a goal appearing on the cards,

23 mins: With both Cathal McCrann and Camillus McMorrow uncharacteristically missing good chances, Declan Fowley caps off good work from Cian Clinton and Paddy McGowan to score.

27 mins: A foul on Kevin McGrath sees Cathal McCrann convert his first free.

30 mins: After a great interception, Declan Fowley’s poor pass is pounced on and James Campbell curls in a great point from the right wing.

32 mins: With Dromahair looking at a two point deficit, Paddy McGowan’s storming run sets up Kevin Conlan for an inspirational point from the right wing.

Halftime: Gortletteragh 0-5 St. Patrick’s Dromahair 0-4

12 secs: Good work from Paddy McGowan and John Evans releases Kevin Conlon for a fine early point.

2 mins: A free straight in front of the posts is converted by McCrann.

6 mins: Gortletteragh go two clear with another McCrann free after a Dromahair defensive mistake.

11 mins: After a couple of costly misses, Conor Kelly seizes on a poor kick-out to set up Christy McGowan for a fine point.

12 mins: Kevin Conlan’s monster free hangs for an age in the air, dropping just over the bar to level the scores once more.

16 mins: GOAL – Gortletteragh launch a high ball and Darren Duignan fields behind his man, turns and blasts the ball to the Dromahair net.

18 mins: Dromahair hit back with a Cian Clinton free from 40 yards.

21 mins: Gortletteragh reply as Kevin McGrath shows great balance and a fair degree of persistence to work his way through tackles to score an inspirational point.

25 mins: Just seconds after Dessie Barry is sent off the field after getting involved with a Dromahair player, the north Leitrim side close the gap again with another Clinton free.

26 mins: It is all action as Dromahair keeper Kieran Meehan makes a fantastic catch under pressure, James Campbell is yellow carded and then Padraig McGarry steams through the centre to drill the ball over the Dromahair bar.

31 mins: Darren Duignan has a chance to make the game safe but his fisted effort falls short.

32 mins: Keeper Kieran Meehan joins the attack and is fouled before converting the free himself to leave two points in it.

34 mins: After Cathal Quinn sends a long shot wide, Gortletteragh have the chance to end the final on a high when Darren Duignan breaks clear with only a defender and Seamus Quinn anywhere near him. The man of the match draws the cover before passing to Quinn but the former All-Star is closed down with Meehan making the save and Duignan hitting a follow up narrowly wide.

FULLTIME: Gortletteragh 1-9, St. Patrick’s Dromahair 0-10


Conan Clarke, Niall Duffy, Ciaran Egan, Seamus Prunty, James Campbell, Terry Kelleher, Mark Mitchell, Cathal Quinn, Mark Duignan, Gerard Campbell (0-1), Cathal McCrann (0-4), Eamon Reynolds (0-1), Niall Woods, Kevin McGrath (0-1), Darren Duignan (1-0). Subs: Colm Duffy for G. Campbell (34 mins), Padraig McGarry (0-1) for M. Duignan (46 mins), Seamus Quinn for Reynolds (58 mins), Dermot Kennedy for Mitchell (63 mins).

St. Patrick’s Dromahair

Kieran Meehan (0-1), Fergus Meehan, Stephen Keegan, Michael McKeon, Jamie Conlan, Adrian Fowley, Stephen Smyth, Paddy McGowan (0-1), Camillus McMorrow, Kevin Conlan (0-3), John Evans (0-1), Cian Clinton (0-2), Declan Fowley (0-1), Christy McGowan (0-1), Conor Kelly. Subs: Conor Farrell for McMorrow (45 mins), Martin Clancy for McKeon (53 mins).

Referee: Brendan Sammon.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.