Leitrim Ladies U16 Championship 15-a-side Final

Strong Ballinamore stroll to title

Sean O'Heslin's 6-15 Dromahair 2-1

Philip Rooney


Philip Rooney

Strong Ballinamore stroll to title

The Sean O'Heslin's team who defeated Dromahair to win the Leitrim Ladies U16 13-a-side Final last Saturday in Ballinamore. Photo by Eunan Sweeney

The Ballinamore Ladies recorded an impressive victory in last Saturday’s U16 13-a-side Championship on Saturday last when they brushed aside the challenge posed by Dromahair.

The warning signs were clear from a Dromahair point of view from early in the contest. The first attack of note, seconds after Ray McBrien threw-in the ball, saw Megan McGovern and Laoise Moran King combine well with Grainne Prior who was fouled by a Dromahair defender and Eadaoin Murphy dispatched the  free over the bar.

Moments later, the lead was doubled when Emma Honeyman released Niamh Donohoe who pointed.

An Eadaoin Murphy free saw Ballinamore extend the lead to three points before Dromahair hit back with their first attack of note on eight minutes. Roisin Kelly, Sarah O’Donohoe, Cathleen Vesey and Amy Fowley exchanged passes as Dromahair advanced into Ballinamore territory and after Fowley was fouled the free was quickly worked to Cathleen Vesey whose long range strike ended up deceiving the Ballinamore goalkeeper, Erin Keegan, and the ball sailed straight into the net.

Having been outplayed during the opening exchanges, Dromahair would have been able to take heart from that score but that new-found confidence was dashed just seconds later when Ballinamore struck for their first goal of the afternoon.

Aoibhin McGoldrick picked out the run of Grainne Prior who fired a shot to the top corner of the Dromahair goal.

Having looked to be settling into the contest after scoring a goal, Dromahair suddenly looked on the ropes and Ballinamore took full advantage.

Aoibhin McGoldrick opted to point moments later when presented with a sight of goal but Ballinamore didn’t have to wait much longer for their second goal to arrive. Once again Aoibhin McGoldrick was the creator as she found Eadaoin Murphy who dispatched her shot past Aisling Torsney at the second time of asking.

Further points from Joely McGovern, Laoise Moran King and Aoibhin McGoldrick (after a fine save from Aisling Torsney) further extended the Ballinamore lead and  with 10 minutes of the  half remaining it was difficult to see how Dromahair would force their way back into contention.

Joely McGovern and Laoise Moran King points further extended the Ballinamore lead before they struck for a third goal with Eadaoin Murphy finishing after good work from Aoibhin McGoldrick.

Dromahair substitute Eloise Clancy replied with a fine point after getting the better of two defenders.

That proved to be little more than a brief reprieve for the Dromahair players who saw Ballinamore come roaring back at them once more.

Ballinamore’s third goal saw Eadaoin Murphy strike for her second goal of the game and the first half scoring was completed with further points from Megan McGovern, Eadaoin Murphy (two) and Joely McGovern.

Although last Saturday proved to be a very cold afternoon there was not a strong enough breeze in Leitrim Village to suggest Dromahair would be able to overturn the 3-13 to 1-1 deficit as the second half got underway.

The opening stages of the second half proved to be competitive with both sides looking dangerous on the attack.  Sarah Donohoe and Eloise Clancy led the fight for Dromahair but they were unable to reduce the deficit and nine minutes after the restart Ballinamore struck for their fourth goal with Megan McGovern finishing from close range.

There was an element of good fortune surrounding their fifth goal as Niamh Donohoe's long range effort dipped just under Aisling Torsney's crossbar.

The sixth Ballinamore goals saw Aoibhin McGoldrick race clear of the defence before applying a clinical finish and that was soon followed by a Megan McGovern point.

Dromahair replied with an Eloise Clancy pointed free but Ballinamore completed the scoring with a late point from Laoise Moran King.


Sean O'Heslin's

Scorers: Eadaoin Murphy 2-5, 2f; Megan McGovern & Aoibhin McGoldrick 1-2 each; Niamh Donohoe 1-1; Grainne Prior 1-0; Joely McGovern 0-3.   

Team: Erin Keegan, Siobhan Flynn, Gracie Reilly, Emma Honeyman, Abbi Sweeney, Mollie Murphy, Laoise Moran King, Megan McGovern, Niamh Donohoe, Grainne Prior, Joely McGovern, Aoibhin McGoldrick, Eadaoin Murphy. Subs: Michaela Harte for J. McGovern (45), Clare Smyth for Donohoe (53), Aoife Darcy for Murphy (56), Ruth Creamer for Prior (56).


Scorers: Cathleen Vesey, Laura Fowley 1-0 each; Eloise Clancy 0-1

Team: Aisling Torsney, Clodagh McGee, Saoirse McGovern, Rachel McPartlin, Dianaimh Ballantine, Emma McMorrow, Cathleen Vesey, Laura Fowley, Roisin Kelly, Amy Fowley, Eabha Moyles, Sarah O'Donohoe, Niamh Sanderson. Subs: Eloise Clancy for Sanderson (17), Kelly Gallagher for McPartlin (49), Shauna Clinton for O'Donohoe (54), Ciara Sweeney for McMorrow.