Roscommon clubs asked for nominations for new manager

Leitrim Sport


Leitrim Sport


Kevin McStay quickly turns focus to Galway

Former Roscommon manager Kevin McStay

Roscommon GAA clubs are being asked for nominations to succeed Kevin McStay as the county’s Senior Football manager with a deadline of this Friday, September 14.

Roscommon GAA County Board have announced that they have put in a place a recruitment process for the post vacated by Kevin McStay and have appointed a sub-committee to carry out the recruitment of a new senior team manager.

The committee is made up of the County Chairman Seamus Sweeney, Co. Secretary Brian Carroll, Co. Treasurer David O Connor, former Senior Football Captain Niall Carty, and former Co. footballer Ciarán Heneghan. In addition, the committee has the option to add an additional member if required.

Clubs that wish to nominate somebody for the position of Senior Football Team Manager have until 5pm on Friday September 14, to do so. The subcommittee was also given the authority to approach any suitable candidates themselves.

In their statement, Roscommon GAA state “Roscommon GAA hopes to have the appointment made in a timely fashion to ensure the new manager has plenty of time to prepare for the 2019 football season and the return to Division One Football.”