02 Jul 2022

No elections and few motions for first online Convention

No elections and few motions for first online Convention

Delegates pictured at last year's Leitrim GAA Convention Picture: Willie Donnellan

Next Monday's Leitrim GAA County Board Convention breaks new ground as the first ever to be held online but it also promises to be a very quiet one with no elections and only one motion submitted by clubs.

Apart from a few house-keeping motions submitted by the County Board over the make up of committees and the Junior Championships, the only other motion concerns a proposal to have all adult club championship games recorded.

Eslin's motion states “It would be a very desired objective of everyone concerned that all Leitrim Club Senior, Intermediate and Junior Championship games be recorded. The cost of video recording should be agreed by both clubs prior to the game and all arrangements made for recording be made by both clubs.

“Permission to be sought from Rúnaí CLG Liatroma in advance of game recording. Rights to the recordings remain property of Leitrim GAA. Matches that are organised to be live streamed such as County Finals would by default guarantee recording.

“The purpose of this motion is to encourage more coverage of our games and may also be of use to all parties towards any disciplinary process that may be required at a later date.”

It is an intriguing motion, particularly with regards to disciplinary matters, but, and not wanting to jinx any motion, I'd imagine that the cost of such a plan may cause problems.

In terms of elections, there are none although there is a position left vacant, that of Vice-chariman. Those nominated are as follows:

  • Cathaoirleach: Enda Stenson
  • Rúnaí: Declan Bohan
  • Leas Rúnaí: Attracta O’Reilly
  • Cisteoir: Martin McCartin
  • Leas Cisteoir: Noeleen McLoughlin
  • Oifigeach Forbartha: Terence Boyle
  • Oifigeach Oiliúna: Paul Murphy
  • Oifigeach na bPáistí: Mark Heslin
  • Oifigeach Cultúra agus Teanga: Laura Crossan
  • Oifigeach Caidreamh Poiblí: Barbara Loughlin Byrne
  • Comhairle Connacht (2): John Mulvey, Pat Feely
  • Árd Comhairle: Enda Tiernan
  • Comhdháil Connacht (4): Enda Stenson, Declan Bohan, Martin McCartin, Seamus McManus
  • Comhdháil Bhliantúil (4): Enda Stenson, Declan Bohan, Martin McCartin, Vincent O’Rourke

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.