01 Dec 2021

Pairc Sean Scoreboard

2 mins: After two Wicklow wides, Ray Cox opens the scoring after good work from Enda Williams and Paul Brennan.

2 mins: After two Wicklow wides, Ray Cox opens the scoring after good work from Enda Williams and Paul Brennan.

4 mins: Wicklow’s Joey Kelly sweeps over a fine point after a sideline ball from Tony Hannon.

5 mins: Another long Williams delivery finds James Glancy in the left corner, the full-forward’s run creates space as he fires over a great point.

9 mins: Daniel Beck’s foul on Tony Hannon sees Seanie Furlong fire over the free.

11 mins: James Glancy wins a free after Wicklow lose the ball in defence, Emlyn Mulligan scoring his first of the day.

13 mins: Joey Kelly points after patient play from the Wicklow attack. A minute later, John McGrath’s second edges Wicklow for the first time.

18 mins: James Glancy repeats his feat, this time with his left foot from the left corner.

19 mins: Glancy surges through the middle after a slip but the Wicklow defence but his shot is blocked by a defender as the Manor man appears to be fouled. Wicklow move the ball straight down the field where Joey Kelly is played clean through but he blasts over the bar.

24 mins: Darren Sweeney is forced from the action after suffering an injured ankle in the fourth minute and is replaced by clubmate Gerry Hickey with Paddy McGowan moving to midfield.

26 mins: Fortune smiles on Leitrim when Ray Cox is lucky to win a free, Mulligan tapping over.

30 mins: Cathal McCrann saves Leitrim’s hide when he makes a brilliant save from John McGrath’s shot that came after two Leitrim defenders missed the ball, allowing Wicklow a run through on goal.

31 mins: Wicklow heavily dispute James Glancy’s point that the umpire waves over but many believe curled wide.

33 mins: Tony Hannon puts over a free for Wicklow.

34 mins: Mulligan converts a free from a tight angle in the left corner to edge Leitrim in front.


2 mins: Mulligan puts two between the teams for the first time with a free after a Wicklow player is penalised for over-carrying.

4 mins: From almost the same spot, Mulligan curls over another free after Daniel Beck is fouled. Wicklow react by replacing Alan Byrne and Daragh O’Sullivan with Niall Gaffney and Conor McGraynor.

13 mins: After a succession of Wicklow wides, Gerry Hickey finishes off a great move with a fine point after passes from Williams, Mulligan and Ray Cox.

18 mins: Wicklow get their first score in over 20 minutes when Nicky Mernagh’s high hanging shot from 50 yards just drops over the Leitrim bar.

20 mins: Another long free into space finds Glancy who spins and fires over a brilliant point on the turn. Robbie Lowe is then introduced for Shane Moran.

24 mins: Wicklow waste a glorious goal chance when a high ball breaks to James Stafford but he blasts high and wide.

25 mins: Wicklow’s Dean Healy narrows the gap with a point from a tight angle.

27 mins: After Mernagh sees a shot come off the post, Furlong wallops over from long range.

31 mins: Glancy wins another free, Mulligan converts the free.

34 mins: Wicklow cut the Leitrim lead to two when John McGrath plays a quick free, collects the return and scores.

35 mins: James Glancy caps off a man of the match display with a fabulous point, keeping the ball in play and cutting back for a great Leitrim point.



Cathal McCrann (Gortletteragh), Alan Wynne (Allen Gaels), Fabian McMorrow (Melvin Gaels), Paddy Maguire (Glencar/Manorhamilton), Colm Clarke (Drumkeerin), Enda Williams (Clonguish), Daniel Beck (Mohill), Darren Sweeney (Glencar/Manorhamilton), Shane Moran (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s), Paul Brennan (Melvin Gaels), Emlyn Mulligan (Melvin Gaels) (0-6), Paddy McGowan (St. Patrick’s Dromahair), Ray Cox (Annaduff) (0-1) , James Glancy (Glencar/Manorhamilton) (0-5), Kevin Conlan (St. Patrick’s Dromahair). Subs: Gerry Hickey (Glencar/Manorhamilton) (0-1) for Sweeney (24 mins), Robbie Lowe (St. Mary’s Kiltoghert) for Moran (55 mins), Adrian Croal for Conlan (62 mins), Brian McDonald (Glencar/Manorhamilton) for Cox (72 mins).


John Flynn, Stephen Kelly, Anthony McLoughlin, Alan Byrne, Dean Healy (0-1), Stephen Byrne, Darren Hayden, James Stafford, Peadar Burke, Joey Kelly (0-3), Daragh O’Sullivan, Rory Finn, Seanie Furlong (0-2), John McGrath (0-2), Tony Hannon (0-1). Subs: Niall Gaffney for A. Byrne (40 mins), Ciaran McGraynor for O’Sullivan (41 mins), Niall Mernagh (0-1) for Hannon (48 mins), Paddy Dalton for Kelly (64 mins).

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.