28 Jan 2022

Drumkeerin cruise into U-21 decider

editorial image
Drumkeerin reached the final of the Leitrim U-21 “B” Football Championship by virtue of an easy victory over a depleted Melvin Gaels.

Drumkeerin reached the final of the Leitrim U-21 “B” Football Championship by virtue of an easy victory over a depleted Melvin Gaels.

Drumkeerin 3-13

Melvin Gaels 0-2

The foundations for the victory were laid in the first half when the winners cut through the Gaels defence time after time and by the break, led by 14 points.

The Gaels cause wasn’t helped by the absence of five players through injury and unavailability, but they got off to the better start, hitting over two points in the first four minutes through Colm McGurrin and David McGowan. But they failed to score for the remainder of the game and once James Gallagher hit a goal for the winners in the sixth minute, it was one way traffic.

Felim McHugh added a second goal after eleven minutes and when Gallagher hit his second and Drumkeerins third after eighteen minutes, it was game over.

They also notched up seven points, all from play with Jamie Langan leading the way with three, Cathal McCawley with two and one each from Patrick McPartlan and Declan Daly.

With the result never in doubt, the pace dropped in the second half, but Melvin Gaels battled away. Even though they created a number of chances, an impressive Drumkeerin defence kept them at bay.

This, along with some poor shooting, a couple of good saves from Thomas McPartlan and the post denied the losers a second half score.

The winners used their full compliment of subs in the second half and added a further six points, two each from Langan, James Gallagher & Felim McHugh to run out easy winners.

Drumkeerin: Thomas McPartlan; Tommy Rogan, Jerome Maguire; Patrick McPartlan (0-1), Declan Daly (0-1), Dean Brolly; Felim McHugh (1-2), James Gallagher (2-2); Seamus McNama, Cathal McCawley (0-2), John Gallagher; Jamie Langan (0-5, 1f), Patrick McHugh; Subs:Sean O’Grady, Paul Hazlett, James Hazlett, Adrian Forde & James Earley for Cathal McCawley, Jamie Langan, Patrick McPartlan, Seamus McNama & Patrick McHugh.

Melvin Gaels: Christopher Connolly; Sean Gallagher, Oliver McGowan; Kevin McGloin, Liam Ryan, Kevin Sweeney; Kevin McGowan, Aaron McGurrin; Philip McGowan, Damien Hurley, James McGowan; David McGowan (0-1), Colm McGurrin (0-1); Subs: Sean Gallagher & Paul Russell for Christopher Connolly & Kevin McGloin.

Referee: Brendan Sammon (Aughnasheelin)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.