02 Dec 2021

Eslin march on to the quarter-finals

Eslin keeper gets his foot to the ball ahead of an Aughavas attacker.
Eslin continued their winning ways and booked their place in the quarter finals with a significant win over Aughavas in Carrigallen last Saturday.

Eslin continued their winning ways and booked their place in the quarter finals with a significant win over Aughavas in Carrigallen last Saturday.

Eslin were considerered among the favourites for the title at the start of the campaign but a heavy first round loss to Ballinamore reduced their odds somewhat but they have been eeking out wins

Aughavas started in whirlwind fashion with John Conefrey on top at midfield and his team had four points on the board within 12 minutes. Kevin Keegan scored two with Enda Shortt and Niall McGuire also scoring.

Eslin eventually settled and Shane Beirne got their first point after 18 minutes followed by a Conor Beirne free. A great run by Eamon Stenson put Declan Ward through for a point followed by an excellent Shane Beirne point.

The last three minutes of this half changed the game with goals from Conor and Niall Beirne sending Eslin into the break with a six point cushion, 2-4 to 0-4.

Aughavas started well in the second half again and points from Kevin Keegan and Gavin Farrelly reduced the deficit but points from Barry McLoughlin and Conor Beirne restored Eslin’s advantage.

After ten minutes of the second half, John Conefrey, who caused Eslin trouble all evening planted a soaring ball in to the back of Eslin’s net. Aughavas had the opportunity to level at this stage but Dan O Brien’s effort was well saved by Emmett Higgins.

Tomas and Conor Beirne then pointed one each. Play became scrappy with both sides having goal chances but only managed points from Kevin Keegan and Paul Kilcrann. With five minutes left, Conor Beirne & Kevin Keegan swapped points but Eslin finished strongly with an Eamon Stenson point and an injury time goal from Niall Beirne.

Brian Higgins closed out the scoring with a point but Eslin manager Sean Logan will know only too well that his charges will have to improve if they are to progress further.

Aughavas: Colin McKiernan, Seamus Colreavy, Niall Maguire, Shane Shortt, Sean McKiernan, Derek McGuire, Enda Shortt, Francis McLoughlin, John Conefrey, Eoin Brennan, Colin Maguire, Conor McKiernan, Dan O’Brien, David Charles, Kevin Keegan.

Eslin: Emmett Higgins, Barry Bohan, Cormac Duignan, Paul Kilcrann, Padraig McNulty, Declan Ward, Barry McLoughlin, Tomas Beirne, Brian Higgins, Enda Turbitt, Shane Beirne Joseph Stenson, Niall Beirne, Conor Beirne, Eamon Stenson.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.