23 Jan 2022

Unlucky Willies rues missed chances

Jimmy Guckian sends the ball over the bar.
A desperately unlucky Aughawillan ended their Group campaign without a win as an understrength St. Mary’s hung on for a draw.

A desperately unlucky Aughawillan ended their Group campaign without a win as an understrength St. Mary’s hung on for a draw.

Aughawillan 0-16 St. Mary’s Kiltoghert 2-10

Indeed, Aughavawillan will wonder how they lost this one as they were seven points clear after 14 minutes and missed a succession of chances that could have given then a deserved win but their shooting let them down.

Without Robbie Lowe, Brendan Flynn and several other first choice players, St. Mary’s lost Daniel Lowe to two yellow cards but were leading by three points with seven minutes to go.

Aughavawillan started off impressively with seven points from Morgan Quinn(2), Barry Prior (2), Mark & Gary Plunkett and Ciaran Gilheaney but they were dealt a blow when Brian O’Donnell fisted home a pass from Niall Comerton on 16 minutes.

Points from Ray Mulvey (2), O’Donnell (2), Jimmy Guckian and Nicholas McWeeney had St. Mary’s in a 1-6 to 0-8 hafltime lead.

A Mulvey goal five minutes into the second half seemingly had Mary’s in complete control but again Aughawillan came back with four points on the trot but crucially, they could never get in front with two bad wides.

St. Mary’s took full advantage with Comerton, Doherty and Mulvey all adding points in less than two minutes and the match seemingly all but over but Aughawillan refused to be cowed.

Noel Plunkett fired over a wonder score, Christy Prior fisted over and Barry Prior hit a free but they also saw Gary Plunkett hit the crossbar and miss two more great chances.

Aughawillan: Colin Maguire, Barry McBrien, Michael Quinn, Sean Quinn, Noel Plunkett (0-1), Gary Deane, Rory McTague, Sean Flanagan, Christy Prior (0-2), Mark Plunkett (0-1), Barry Prior (0-6), Ciaran Gilheaney (0-3), Morgan Quinn (0-2), Gary Plunkett (0-1), Ryan Creamer. Subs: Kevin McTague for Deane (36 mins).

St. Mary’s Kiltoghert: Anthony Conway, Jonathan Cassidy, Conor Farrell, James Glancy, Jack De Lacy, David Crowe, Nicholas McWeeney (0-1), John Healy, Daniel Lowe, Ray Mulvey (1-4), Clement Cunniffe, Brian O’Donnell (1-2), Alan Doherty (0-1), Jimmy Guckian (0-1), Niall Comerton (0-1). Subs: Dermot Turley for De Lacy (19 mins), Cormac Greene for Healy (48 mins).

Referee: Frank Niblock.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.