01 Dec 2021

Leitrim U-14s win Wicklow Tournament

Leitrim U-14 Development Squad took part in the inaugural Wicklow U-14 Football competition at the well appointed Blessington GAA grounds on Sunday last.

Leitrim U-14 Development Squad took part in the inaugural Wicklow U-14 Football competition at the well appointed Blessington GAA grounds on Sunday last.

Leitrim played Wicklow in the first semi final in very difficult conditions. Leitrim played into a strong wind in the opening half and started slowly but as the half wore on, Leitrim began to dominate proceedings.

Two quick goals in succession from Ethan Harkin and Conor Reynolds gave Leitrim some breathing room as half time approached, the Green & Gold leading 2-0 to 0-2 at the break. The second half was mostly one way traffic with Leitrim adding four points in the first 10 minutes through Niall McGovern, Ethan Harkin, Conor Cronin and Daragh Rooney.

Leitrim made nine substitutions in the second half and one of these, Conor McGoldrick put the game beyond doubt with a well taken goal. Ethan Harkin added Leitrim’s fourth goal as Leitrim ran out 4-7 to 0-5 winners.


J. Burke (Dromahair), L. Ryan (Melvin Gaels), G. Kearns (Melvin Gaels), S. Keegan (Fenagh), D. Guckian (Annaduff), D. Ward (Gortlettragh), P. Sheridan (Melvin Gaels), N. McGovern (Sean O Heslins)(0-1), C. Cronin (Annaduff)(0-1), A. McLoughlin (Fenagh)(0-1), D. Rooney (Melvin Gaels)(0-2), E. Harkin (Mohill)(2-2), C. Murray (Annaduff), K. Mullen (Sean O Heslins), C. Reynolds (Fenagh)(1-0); Subs: T. Early (St. Mary’s), K. Harkin (Mohill), C. McGoldrick (St. Mary’s)(1-0), M. Loughlin (Glencar/ Manor), L. Costello (St. Mary’s), R. McVeigh (Drumkeerin), P. Flynn (Leitrim Gaels), D. Maxwell (Sean O Heslins), B. McElgunn (Leitrim Gaels), K. McGovern (Gortlettragh), E. Lyons (St. Mary’s).

The final was played in slightly better conditions against Kilcock from Kildare, who stepped in as late replacements for Carlow. Kilcock qualified for the final by virtue of a big win over Ballyboden St. Enda’s from Dublin.

Leitrim started this game where they had left off from the semi final. They were dominant in all sectors of the field with Niall McGovern & Conor Cronin controlling the game from midfield.

Goals from Darragh Rooney, Conor Cronin and Aaron McLoughlin were complimented with points from Darragh Rooney, Kevin Mullen, Ethan Harkin, Niall McGovern, Seamus Sweeney and Conor Cronin to leave Leitrim leading 3-6 to 0-2 at hafltime.

Leitrim took the opportunity to give some more of their subs a run out in the second half and they continued to have the upper hand in all sections.

Leitrim added four more points through McGovern, Mullen and two from Darragh Rooney. Two goals in the last few minutes put a respectable look on the scoreline but in truth, it was a game where there was no danger to the outcome as Leitrim ran out 3-10 to 2-5 winners. Paul Garrigan from Wicklow Coaching presented the cup to a delighted captain Niall McGovern.


D. Maxwell, L. Ryan, B. McElgunn, S. Keegan, D. Guckian, F. Gallogly (Aughavas), F. McGuinness (Mohill), N. McGovern (0-2), C. Cronin (1-1), A. McLoughlin (1-0), D. Rooney (1-3), E. Harkin (0-1), C. Reynolds, K. Mullen (0-2), S. Sweeney (Aughavas). Subs: N. Patrasco (Leitrim Gaels), M. Dolan (Carrigallen), K. Moran (Allen Gaels), J. Scollan (Fenagh), T. Harden (Leitrim Gaels), J. Ozdobinski (Allen Gaels), O. Keaney (Glenfarne/Kilty), R. McVeigh, L. Costello, J. Heslin (Gortlettragh)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.