Gardaí announce new speed zones

Road Safety

Two new Garda mobile safety cameras zones have been added in Co Leitrim as part of the latest road safety initiative. The new locations are the R280 from the Manorhamilton entrance to Kinlough right through the village and across the border into Co Donegal and on the Dristernan road out of Drumshanbo.

They join the existing speed zone on the R280/Leitrim road from Main Street, Carrick-on-Shannon running out past Leitrim village.

In Co Roscommon 13 new speed enforcement zones have been identified including the Cloontuskert Rd between Ballyleague and the N5; on the N5 between Clondra and Tarmonbarry; between Strokestown and Tulsk, between Tulsk and Rathcroghan and at Frenchpark.

Speed enforcement zones have also been identified on the Boyle road out of Frenchpark, on the Strokestown road out of Elphin and on the road between Boyle and the N4.

A new speed zone running from the Carrick-on-Shannon Golf Club to just a short distance outside of Lough Key Forest Park has also been added.

In Longford, the speed zones will be implemented at five new locations including on the N4 in and out of Edgeworthstown and on the N55 approaching Edgeworthstown from Ballymahon.

New speed zones are also now in place on the N4 at Bornacoola outside Newtownforbes and on the Ballyjamesduff R194 road outside of Granard.

In Cavan seven new speed zones have been added including zones at Cornafean on the R198; on the large stretch of the N55 coming into Ballinagh and one at the R200 on the Cavan side of Dowra village.

For further details on the roads impacted in your locality see