15 Aug 2022

Two local students awarded a JP McManus All-Ireland Scholarship

Two local students awarded a JP McManus All-Ireland Scholarship

Pictured is student Daniel Bohan with Principal Declan Conboy with sponsor JP McManus and Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Patrick O’Donovan.

Two Leitrim students, Daniel Bohan from (Carrigallen Vocational School) and  Yijun Feng (Drumshanbo Vocational School) have been awarded a JP McManus All Ireland Scholarship toward their third level education.

The awards ceremony took place on Saturday, November 19 at the University of Limerick where Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Patrick O’Donovan TD., presented the awards. Special Guest at this year’s Awards Ceremony was Rugby Legend, Paul O’Connell.

This is the ninth year of the Scholarships, which are sponsored by JP McManus. A total of 125 students from both North and South of Ireland were presented with a third level scholarship certificate. Sponsored by JP McManus, the scheme is set to provide financial assistance to many high achieving students who completed their Leaving Certificate in 2016.

JP McManus has contributed €32 million to fund the provision of these scholarships each year and it is estimated that over 1,300 students from the 32 counties will benefit from the scheme over its duration. The awards are administered by the Department of Education & Skills and Department of Education in Northern Ireland.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.