14 Aug 2022

Decision on constituency boundaries due in July

Controversial split of Cavan and Donegal in 2012

MacSharry submits his view on the constituency boundary

Current Sligo, Leitrim, West Cavan, South Donegal constituency

Following the details of the Census population being released last week, it is understood it will be July before a decision is made on the boundaries of the Sligo - Leitrim constituency.

A part of West Cavan and South Donegal is currently in the Sligo-Leitrim Constituency, there has been major campaigns in both counties to reunite their own constituencies.

The Constituency Commission has three months from the release of the Census figures to publish its report into the country’s voting areas.

The Commission has until July 6 this year to make its decision.

There was controversy in 2012 when it was decided to split County Cavan and Donegal - into two separate constituencies, with many people not realising the change until polling day.

Elected TDs vowed to support the two counties returning to their original constituencies.

The population per TD for the country as a whole in April 2016 was 30,138.

Donegal and Cavan-Monaghan constituencies were slightly over this, while Sligo-Leitrim (including West Cavan and South Donegal) was under 30,000.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login
Myths, magic & mayhem in Manorhamilton

Dobharchú: This stunning piece created by Anna Mulvihill captures a glimpse of the legen of the Dobharchú the sea monster believed to have killed a local lady Grainne Ní Conolaí

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.