29 May 2022

Seven lucky students awarded Josie Martin Scholarships for 2017/2018

Credit Unions

Seven lucky students awarded Josie  Martin Scholarships for 2017/2018

Group Winners, back row, l-r Jarlath Scollan, Seona Cosgrove, Darren Lynch, George Marshall, Andrei Sacal and Joe Lowe. Front row, l-r Lisa Wynne, Maureen Martin and Nicole Spears.

The Josie Martin Scholarship Awards in conjunction with The Leitrim Credit Unions were recently announced.

Seven lucky students around the County were recently awarded scholarships to the value €1,000 each from the Josie Martin Scholarship Fund for 2017/2018.

Annaduff Winner, from left to right: Bridie Shanley, Annaduff CU, Maureen Martin, Seona Cosgrove, Ann Cosgrove, Joe Lowe, LCEF.

Ballinamore Winner, from left to right: Niall Scollan, Maureen Martin, Jarlath Scollan, Mary Scollan, Sharon Sweeney, Balinamore CU.

The Scholarships are co-funded by the local Credit Union offices and Leitrim County Enterprise Fund in support of Leitrim students attending third level education.

The Scholarships were formed in memory of the late Josie Martin who showing great vision in assisting the development of the Credit Union movement throughout Leitrim.

Carrick-on-Shannon Credit Union Winner, from left to right: Svetlana Sacal, Andrei Sacal, Maureen Martin, Gerry Magee LCEF, Joe Lowe, Carrick CU.

Carrigallen Winner, from left to right: Joe Lowe, LCEF, Debra Lynch, Darren Lynch, Maureen Martin, Sharon Sweeney, Ballinamore CU.

Josie was also was also the prime instigator in the establishment of the Leitrim County Enterprise Fund , which has provided low cost finance to the local business sector, particularly in the 90s at a time when credit was difficult to secure.

The scholarships bring these two organisations together to honour the Late Josie while assisting Leitrim students financially in achieving a third level education.

The Presentation took place at The Hive in Carrick-on-Shannon which is now the flagship project of the Leitrim County Enterprise Fund. Maureen Martin represented the Martin Family and presented the awards on the night.

Drumshanbo Winner, from left to right: Enda McGloin, LCEF, Fergal McPartland, Drumshanbo CU, Lisa Wynne, Maureen Martin, Breda Wynne and Sean Wynne.

Manorhamilton Winner, from left to right: Martina Spears, Nicole Spears, Maureen Martin, Justin Warnock, LCEF and Eugene Kelly, Manorhamilton CU.

Maureen expressed her delight that the Fund has continued to acknowledge Josie achievements in supporting this very worthwhile initiative. She wished all the students every success in their future studies and thanked the Local Credit Unions in their support in funding and assistance in administrating the awards.

Mr Damien Brennan spoke on behalf of the Credit Unions and greatly acknowledged the role that Josie played in the development of the County.
He emphasised the importance of the Credit Union movement and its vital services for small towns and rural communities.

Mohill Winner, from left to right: Damien Brennan, Mohill CU, George Marshall, Maureen Martin, Mr Marshall.

Mr. Joe Lowe Secretary of the Leitrim County Enterprise Fund thanked each of the Credit Unions (Annaduff, Ballinamore, Carrick-on-Shannon, Carrigallen, Drumshanbo, Mohill and Manorhamilton) and hoped that the scholarships will assist in easing the increasing financial burden of third level education.

He outlined all the services available to students through their local Credit Union and urged them to continue to use the Credit union as it is the most competitive source of finance in the community.

The scholarships were awarded through an open draw process with all applicants having an equal opportunity to win. All applicants were required to be members of their local Credit Union.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.