29 Sept 2022

Strong transfer between Leitrim independents in the sixth count here in Sligo/Leitrim

Sligo/Leitrim candidate profile: Sean Wynne (Independent)

Sean Wynne has secured 222 transfers from Bernie O'Hara in the sixth count.

There has been a significant transfer of votes between Leitrim candidates Bernie O'Hara and Sean Wynne in the sixth count of the Sligo/Leitrim constituency this morning.

A strong transfer was expected between the two because both share a strong pro-life commitment and strong focus on rural concerns. In the end Sean Wynne netted 222 votes from O'Hara's transfers. Bernie O'Hara was eliminated following the fifth count.

The results are as follows after the sixth count:

Declan Bree IND 2701

James Conway IND 1635

Nessa Cosgrove LAB 1305

Shane Ellis FF 2985

Frankie Feighan FG 5536

Bláithín Gallagher GP 2052

Marian Harkin IND 7691

Marc Mas Sharry FF 7403

Gino O'Boyle PBP 2487

John Perry IND 1453

Eamon Scanlon FF 6434

Thomas Walsh FG 4857

Sean Wynne IND 1820

Non transferable: 89

Labour candidate Nessa Cosgrove has been eliminated from the running and her vote of 1305 will now be distributed in the seventh count.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.