08 Dec 2021

Mary Bohan is the new Cathaoirleach of Leitrim County Council

Fifth time she will fill the role

Veteran Mary Bohan looks set to top the poll for the Manorhamilton Local Electoral Area

Cllr Mary Bohan

Leitrim's longest serving councillor has been elected to the post of Cathaoirleach of Leitrim County Council. At today's (Friday, June 26, 2020) AGM of the local authority, Cllr Bohan was elected to the post unopposed.

This is the fifth time that Cllr Bohan will serve the county as Chairperson. She was joined by Cllr Finola Armstrong McGuire who was elected as Vice-Chairperson for the coming year.

This is the first time that the two highest positions on the council have both been filled by women.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.