18 Aug 2022

Good performances at Indoor Champs

There were a series of good performances and great displays at the Leitrim Indoor Championships in Carrick Sports Complex.

There were a series of good performances and great displays at the Leitrim Indoor Championships in Carrick Sports Complex.

Mohill’s Alannah McGuininess, North Leitrim’s Ella McDaid and Carrick’s Niall Morahan, Donal Casey were among the big winners on the day. The following are the results from last Sunday.


U9: Sprint: 1. Aoibhin Gilgunn NL, 2. Claire McWeeney B/More, 3. Catherine Cullen Carrick; 3 lap: 1. Claire McWeeney, 2. Mae Harman Carrick, 3. Aoibhin Gilgun; Shot: 1. Catherine Cullen, 2. Aoibhin Gilgunn, 3. Claire McWeeney; Long Jump: 1. Aoibhin Gilgunn, 2. Mae Harmen, 3. Claire McWeeney

U10: Sprint: 1. Olwyn Moore Carrick, 2. Maria McGrenaghan Carrick, 3. Hannah Stenson Carrick; lap: 1. Maria McGrenaghan, 2. Olwyn Moore, 3. Emma Honeyman B/More Shot: 1. Emma Honeyman, 2. Maria McGrenaghan, 3. Aoibhe Macklin (M), Long Jump: 1. Olwyn Moore, 2. Maria McGrenaghan, 3. Aoibhe Macklin

U11: Sprint & 3 lap: 1. Ella McDaid NL, 2. Emma O’Connell Carrick, 3. Johanne Deitz Carrick; Shot: 1. Johanna Deitz, 2 Ella McDaid & Lara Mulvaney NL, 3. Rachel McGarry Carrick; Long Jump: 1. Ella McDaid, 2. Johanna Deitz, 3. Aine McGwynne Carrick

U12: Sprint: 1. Alannah McGuinness Mohill, 2. Aoibhe McGoldrick B/More, 3. Caitlin Surlis Carrick; 4 lap: 1. Alannah McGuinness, 2. Caitlin Surlis, 3. Chloe Dolan Mohill; Shot: 1. Caitlin Surlis Carrick, 2. Isobelle McKeown Carrick, 3. Shannon O’Hagan; U12 Long Jump: 1. Alannah McGuinness (M), 2. Caitlin Surlis Carrick, 3. Aoibhin McGoldrick B/More, Relay: 1. Carrick A, 2. Carrick B, 3. Mohill

U13: Sprint: 1. Roisin McGrenaghan Carrick, 2. Emer Burke Carrick, 3. Orla McDermott Carrick; 5 lap: 1. Roisin McGrenaghan Carrick, 2. Emer Burke Carrick, 3. Ellis Clancy NL Shot: 1. Roisin McGrenaghan Carrick, 2. Ellis Conway Carrick, 3. Lorraine Foy Mohill, Long Jump: 1. Ciara McCabe Carrick, 2. Emer Burke Carrick, 3. Roisin McGrenaghan Carrick

U14: Sprint & Long Jump: 1. Ciara McGoldrick B/More, 2. Niamh Hargaden B/More, 3. Lauren Keighran B/more; 6 lap: 1. Niamh Hargaden, 2. Ciara McGoldrick, 3. Lauren Kieghran, Shot: 1. Ciara McGoldrick B/More, 2. Lauren Keighran, 3. Niamh Hardagan; Relay: 1. Carrick, 2. B/more, 3. Mohill.


U9 Boys Sprint: 1. Gerard Murtagh Carrick, 2. Harry Cogan NL. 3. Niall Hoolahan Carrick, 3 lap: 1. Harry Colligan, 2. Niall Hoolahan, 3. Gerard Murtagh; Shot: 1. Niall Hoolahan, 2. Gerard Murtagh, 3. Harry Cogan; Long Jump: 1. Harry Cogan, 2. Daniel Brady Carrick, 3. Sean Giblin NL

U10: Sprint & 3 lap: 1. Patrick Charles Carrick, 2. Thomas McNabola Mohill, 3. Paddy Keane Carrick; Shot: 1. Shane Finn Carrick, 2. Thomas McNabola, 3. Patrick Charles; Long Jump: 1. Patrick Charles, 2. Shane Finn Carrick, 3. Blaine Marshall NL

U11: Sprint: 1. Oliver Charles Carrick, 2. Dermot Giblin NL, 3. Conor Maklin Mohill, 4 lap: 1. Oliver Charles, 2. Diarmuid Giblin, 3. Sean Brennan Carrick Shot: 1. Oliver Charles, 2. Kyle McCrann Carrick, 3. Dermot Giblin; Long Jump: 1. Dermot Giblin, 2. Oliver Charles, 3. Jack Keenaghan Carrick

U12: Sprint: 1. James Honeyman B/More, 2. Conor Hackett Carrick, 3. Shane Wrynn Carrick; 4 lap: 1. James Honeyman, 2. Shane Wrynn, 3. Conor Hackett, Relay: 1. Carrick A, 2. Carrick B, 3. B/more; Shot: 1. Conor Hackett, 2. Oisin Kearney Carrick, 3. Fergal McLaughlin B/More; Long Jump: 1. James Honeyman, 2. Conor Hackett, 3. Fergal McLaughlin

U13 Boys Sprint: 1. Donal Casey, 2. Jack Flynn, 3. Paul Keaney (all Carrick). 5 lap: 1. Donal Casey, 2. Adam Reynolds Carrick, 3. Fionn O’Brien B/more; Shot: 1. Fionn O’Brien, 2. Donal Casey, 3. Jack Flynn; Long Jump: 1. Kevin Brady Carrick, 2. David O’Connell Carrick, 3. Fionn O’Brien.

U14 : Sprint: 1. Niall Morahan, 2. Shane Surlis, 3. Mark Diffley (all Carrick), 6 lap: 1. Niall Morahan, 2. Oisin McLoughlin B/more, 3. Martin Earley Carrick; Relay: 1. Carrick A, 2. Carrick B, 3. Mohill; Shot: 1. Shane Surlis, 2. Oisin McLaughlin, 3. Niall Morahan; Long Jump: 1. Niall Morahan, 2. Oisin McLoughlin, 3. Mark Diffley


The Northern Regional Connacht Schools Cross Country Championships take place in Sligo Racecourse tomorrow (Thursday) at 12 noon. The changing accommodation is in the Sligo Sports Complex and because of renovations access to the Course is by the upper rather than the main gate. The AVIVA Connacht Finals will take place at the same venue on Wednesday February 20, with the qualifiers from there taking part in the All Ireland in Ballyclare, Co Antrim, on Saturday March 9.


The newly constructed purpose built Athlone IT International Indoor Athletics Arena will be officially opened this weekend with the AAI Combined Events taking place on Saturday and the AAI Games on Sunday. This will be the venue for the National Championships over the next number of weeks and of particular interest to Connacht athletes will be the fact that the Provincial Under Age Championships will be held at this new and convenient venue on Sunday March 3.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.