14 Aug 2022

Connacht Schools titles for Sinead & Dearbhaile

Carrick-on-Shannon Community School athletes who competed at the Connacht Schools Track & Field Championships in Athlone last Thursday.
The AVIVA Connacht Schools Athletics Championships were held in favourable weather conditions at Athlone IT on Thursday last.

The AVIVA Connacht Schools Athletics Championships were held in favourable weather conditions at Athlone IT on Thursday last.

It was a historic occasion on two accounts. Electronic timing was used at Championships for the first time making it possible to provide accurate finishing positions and times to a hundredth of a second. In addition a Girls Pole Vault competition took place for the first time.

On a day when Leitrim athletes were not exceptionally successful Connacht titles were won by Mohill Community College athletes Dearbhaile Beirne and Sibeal Reynolds. Sibeal won the Junior Long jump with a leap of 4.68 while Dearbhaile was successful in the Inter 2000m Walk.

Molly Crossley took second in the senior 80m Hurdles while Keith Beirne took second in the senior Shot. All four qualify for the All Ireland on Saturday May 31.

Mary Broughton of St Clare’s Manorhamilton was third in the Junior 1500m while Jack Cavaliero also took third in the Senior Long Jump. Chloe Rooney (Junior 1500m), Denise Callinan (Senior Long Jump) and the Junior Girls and Senior Boys relay Teams were all placed fifth. Eadaoin Clancy was 7th in the Junior 200m.

Ballinamore CS’s Ciara McGoldrick was second in the Minor Shot and fourth in the 100m. Mark Keegan took second in the Minor Long Jump.

A number of competitors were placed fourth in their events: Rachel Smith (Junior Long Jump), Colette McGirl (Inter 3000m), Ryan O’Rourke (Inter 800m), Eilis O’Dowd (Inter 800m), Grainne Griffin (Senior 3000m) and Jack Gilheany (Inter 3000m). Kyle McNabola was 7th in the Inter 200m while Oisin McLoughlin (Junior Long Jump), Grainne Griffin (Senior Shot) and Aoife O’Sullivan (Inter Shot) all placed ninth.

Carrick CS’s had two successes in the high jump event with Brian Finn taking second in the junior event and Stephen McDermott a similar position in the Inter event. Elise Bruen was second in the Inter 300m while Brian McElgunn was third in the Inter 400m.

Lauren Hackett (Junior 200m), Callum Whelan (Inter Javelin) & Mark Diffley (Minor 800m) all placed fourth. Roisin McGrenaghan was fifth in the Junior 75m hurdles and Kasey Bruen was fifth in the Junior 1500m. Kasey Bruen was sixth in the Junior 1500m, Christina Beirne 7th in the Inter 100m and Callum Whelan 8th in the discus.

Leitrim County Track & FIeld Championships

The following are the results of the Leitrim Track & Field Championships held last Friday in Manorhamilton.


U10: 60m: 1 Aoibhin Gilgunn (North Leitrim), 2 Roisin Kelleher (Carrick), 3 Ellie Filan (North Leitrim); 300m: 1 Ellie Filan, 2 Aoibhin Gilgunn, 3 Clare McWeeney (Ballinamore); Long Jump: 1 Ellie Filan, 2 Aoife Maguire (North Leitrim), Roisin Kelleher.

U11: 80m: 1 Erin Somers (North Leitrim), 2 Sophie McCabe (Carrick), 3 Olwyn Moore (Carrick); 300m: 1 Erin Somers, 2 Sophie McCabe, 3 Niamh Carolan (North Leitrim); Long Jump: 1 Olwyn Moore, 2 Niamh Carolan, 3 Sophie McCabe; Relay: 1 Carrick, 2 North Leitrim

U12: 100m: 1 Emma O’Connell (Carrick), 2 Sarah Brady (North Leitrim), 3 Grace Coles (Carrick); 600m: 1 Sarah Brady, 2 Emma O’Connell, 3 Lauren Reynolds (Carrick); Shot: 1 Emma O’Connell, 2 Lara Mulvaney (North Leitrim), 3 Lauren Reynolds.

U13: 100m: 1 Caitlin Surlis, 2 Caoimhe Hughes, 3 Caoimhe O’Connor (all Carrick); 600m:1 Caoimhe O’Connor; Shot: 1 Caitlin Surlis, 2 Shannon O Hagan (North Leitrim), 3 Sarah Greene (North Leitrim)

U14: 100m: 1 Orla McDermott (Carrick), 2 Emma McLoughlin (North Leitrim); 600m: Emma McLoughlin; Long Jump: Orla McDermott (Carrick)


U10: 60m: 1 Finn Verachtert (North Leitrim), 2 Danny Keane (Carrick), 3 Sean Giblin (North Leitrim); 300m: 1 Danny Keane, 2 Patrick O’Hora (Carrick), 3 Finn Verachtert; Long Jump: 1 Sean Giblin, 2 Danny Keane, 3 Finn Verachtert

U11: 80m & Long Jump: 1 Patrick Charles (Carrick), Hugo Filan (North Leitrim), 3 Alex O’Boyle (Carrick); 300m: 1 Patrick Charles, 2 Hugo Filan, 3 Cian Mollaghan (Carrick);Relay: 1 Carrick, 2 North Leitrim

U12: 100m: 1 Oliver Charles (Carrick), 2 Diarmuid Giblin (North Leitrim), 3 Sean Brennan (Carrick); 600m: 1 Oliver Charles, 2 David Mitchell (North Leitrim), 3 Diarmuid Giblin; Shot: 1 Dara Mitchell (North Leitrim)

U13: 100m: 1 James Honeyman (Ballinamore), 2 Jim Harte (Carrick) Under 14 Owen Gilgunn (North Leitrim); 600m: 1 Jim Harte; ;Shot: 1 Cian Singleton (Carrick)

U14: 600m: 1 Eoghan Gilgunn (North Leitrim); Shot:1 Dara Mitchell (North Leitrim)


The Leitrim Community Games Athletics Finals take place in Manorhamilton on Sunday next at 2 pm. Registration from 1.30 onwards. Entry fee €4 per person.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.