10 Aug 2022

Successful inaugural Kiltoghert Turkey Trot 5K race

Eventual winner Clive Glancy leads the Kiltoghert Turkey Trot 5K last Sunday.
The inaugural Kiltoghert 5k Turkey Trot ran off smoothly on Sunday at Kiltoghert Community hall.

The inaugural Kiltoghert 5k Turkey Trot ran off smoothly on Sunday at Kiltoghert Community hall.

A special word of thanks to our sponsors for their generosity. We wish to thank the community of Kiltoghert and our great supporters who assisted in setting up the hall, organising food and drinks, in particular big thanks to AnnMarie McKenna, Anna Butler, Caroline Murray, Deirdre Ferguson, Theresa Graham, Siobhan Doran & Tamsin McLoughlin who fed and watered everyone.

Massive appreciation to Lorraine Mulvey and Nuala Whitney who completed race registrations. Also thanks to our race briefing marshall Graham Allen for helping line out the route and supplied signage.

To our ever reliable stewards Gerry Murphy, Jim Doran, Seamus Flynn, Brian Connors, Tom Guckian, Joe Guckian, Sean Guckian, Michael Guckian, Michael and Gerry McLoughlin who did a tremendous job in keeping everyone safe on the road.

Finally to all of those who braved the elements and travelled from long distances to partake in the turkey trot in aid of our local community hall, a massive thank you. Your efforts raised a total amount of €690. Photos and videos of the event are on the Kiltoghert Turkey Trot facebook page courtesy of Mark Kelly.

Results as follows:

First Gent: Clive Clancy (Sponsored by Gannon’s Poultry) Turkey

First Lady: Paula Mollahan, (sponsored by Supervalu Carrick €30 voucher)

First U12 : Michael Connolly (Box of Biscuits)

Best dressed turkey themed Family: Adrian Gurn and Family (€30 voucher sponsored by Gerard Anthony Fashions)

Best demonstration of the Turkey Trot: Noreen Gaffney (€30 voucher, the Barge Restaurant, Leitrim Village)

Best dressed Turkey: Deirdre Ferguson (€30 sponsored by Kiltoghert Homeland Stores)

Results: Clive Clancy 17.29; Adrian Gurn 19.08; Frank Whitney 19.49 3rd male; Chris Daly 20.44; Ashley Molloy 21.09; Scott Harden 21.14; Padraic Hackett 21.14; John Muldowney 22.14; Paul Guckian 22.28; Ciaran Beirne 22.32; Terry McGinn 22.32; Adel Tarabulsi 22.33; Liam Doherty 22.33; Michael Connolly 22.33; Enda Maxwell22.34; Paula Mollahan 22.53; Shane Devaney 23.03; Dhani Keane 23.07; Marie Connolly 23.20; Brendan Mollahan 23.22; Enda Gilmartin 23.34; Darragh Lee 23.44; Kevin Mulligan 23.50; David McKenna 23.56; 24.04; Finlay Harden 24.32; Enda Maxwell 24.55; Conor Hackett 25.17; Tommy Martin 25.20; Vincent Early 25.30; Alan Whitney 25.30; Tom Regan 25.52; Ciara Regan 25.56; Bryan Whitney 26.11; Nicky Campbell 26.27; Helen O’Gara 26.38; Gerard Early 26.38; Suzanne O’Beirne 26.38; Colm Towey 26.38; Linda Mollahan 27.30; Shane Loftus 27.37; Dave Swan 27.52; Michael Connolly 27.53; Bernadette Glancy 27.54; Phoebe Campbell 28.06; Eric O’Neill 28.31; Emer Gilmartin 28.31; Mary Mulligan 28.39; Susan Barry 29.18; Tommy Ferguson 30.08; Olivia Gaffney 30.12; Kathy McLoughlin 30.26; Adrian Beirne 31.14; Miriam Murray 31.18; Tamson McLoughlin 31.18; Clodagh Keane 31.45; Gareth Barry 32.40; Alan O’Beirne 32.48; Dee Ferguson; 33.10; Siobhan Doran 33.10; Neasa Campbell 33.20; Padraig Keane 34.18; Ruby Keane 34.18; Patrick Keane 34.18; Padraig Keane family 34.18; N/A 36.30; Gemma Guckian 36.30; Blaithin McCrann 37.30; Theresa McCrann 37.30; Jack Moolick 37.30; Bernadette Mulvihill Farrell 37.30; Laura Creamer 37.30; Elaine Henry 37.30; Clare Mulvey 37.30; Noreen Gaffney 37.40; Eileen Maxwell 37.40; Early family 37.55; Heather Maxwell 42.16; Gerry Earley 42.16; Brid Healy 43.26; Marion Mulvey 43.26;Patrick O’Beirne 46.55

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.