26 Sept 2022

Colin back in action after dispute resolved

Colin Griffin, Ireland, in action during the Men's 50km Race Walk event. Griffin was placed in 31st position when he received his third red card resulting in disqualification. IAAF World Championships - Day 8, Daegu, Korea. Picture credit: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE
The dispute arising from Colin Griffin being denied funding despite having the qualification for the 2013 World championships in Moscow next August has been settled.

The dispute arising from Colin Griffin being denied funding despite having the qualification for the 2013 World championships in Moscow next August has been settled.

Following pressure from members of the High Performance Committee and the Board the CEO of Athletics Ireland set up a committee consisting of Board members Peter O Hanlon (Chair of Finance), Caroline O Shea (1984 Olympian) and Liam Moggan (Irish Schools Representative) to examine Colin’s situation. Following their recommendation finance has been provided to assist him with his training and competition during the year and good relations have been restored with AAI Director of High Performance Kevin Ankrom.

Colin and Laura Reynolds have been in Spain training with the racewalking group during the past week but due to the upset to his training caused by the dispute he will not be ready for the European Cup of Racewalking in Poland next weekend, an event held every second year and in which he has competed since 2000. Laura Reynolds will, however, be taking part in the 20K Walk and is the only female walker on the Irish team.

Community Games Finals: It is hoped that the weather will have improved for the holding of the Leitrim Community Games Finals in Manorhamilton on Sunday next. The representatives of the various Areas who qualified at their Area Games will assemble from 1.30 p.m. on Sunday to battle for the three medals in each event along with the right to represent the County in that event in the National Finals at Athlone IT next August. This place will go to the winner of each event.

Schools Finals Thursday: The busy season continues with the AVIVA Connacht Schools Finals in Athlone this Thursday (16th). A large member of athletes from various Leitrim post primary schools qualified for the Finals at the Northern Region Competition in Sligo a few weeks ago and a number of them should be among the medals in Thursdays competition. One prominent athlete who is forced to miss the event this year is racewalker Dylan Mimna of Carrigallen Vocational School who is recovering from injury the past number of weeks.

Weather Conditions do not favour champs: The winter like conditions over the weekend reduced the numbers who participated in the County Championships on Sunday last but for those who did turn out conditions improved during the afternoon and there was some good competition in many events.


U10: 60m & 300m: 1st Erin Somers NL, 2nd Emma Honeyman 3rd Maria McGrenaghan Ck; Long jump: 1st Maria McGrenaghan Ck, 2nd Emma Honeyman; 3rd Helen Verachtert NL; U11: 60m: 1st Emma O’Connell Ck, 2nd Ellie O’Rourke B/more, 3rd Kate Gilheaney B/more, 300m: 1. Ellie O’Rourke, 2. Emma O’Connell, 3. Sarah Brady NL; Long Jump: 1. Emma O’Connell, 2nd Lara Mulvaney NL; U-12: 80m: 1. Caitlin Surlis Ck, 2. Aoibhin McGoldrick B/more, 3. Laoise Moran B/more; 600m: 1. Aoibhin McGoldrick, 2. Laoise Moran; Shot: 1st Shannon O’Hagan NL, 2 Caitlin Surlis, 3. Laoise Moran; U13: 80m: 1. Ellis Conway Ck, 2. Roisin McGrenaghan Ck, 3. Eloise Glancy NL; Girls U13 600m: 1. Eloise Glancy, 2. Hannah Bird Ck; Long Jump: 1st Ellis Conway Ck, 2. Roisin McGrenaghan, 3 Orlaith McDermott Ck; Shot: 1st Roisin McGrenaghan, 2 Ellis Conway, 3. Eloise Glancy; Girls U14 80m & Shot: 1. Ciara McGoldrick B/more, 2. Sarah Crowe Ck; 800m: 1. Sarah Crowe; U16 100m & Shot: 1. Sibeal Reynolds B/more


U10 60m & 300m: 1. Patrick Montgomery NL, 2. Cian Mollahan Ck, 3. Sean Giblin NL; Long jump: 1. Patrick Montgomery, 2. Cian Mollahan; U11: 60m: 1. Diarmuid Giblin NL, 2. Sean Brennan Ck, 3. James Clinton NL; 300m: 1. James Clinton, 2. Diarmuid Giblin, 3. Daniel McLaughlin B/more; Long Jump: 1. Diarmuid Giblin, 2. James Clinton, 3. Diarmuid Gallagher NL; U12 80m: 1. James Honeyman, 2 Senan Harte, 3. James Wrynn (all B/more); 600m: 1. James Honeyman, 2. Senan Harte, 3. Fergal McLaughlin B/more; Shot: 1. Fergal McLaughlin B/more, 2. Cian Singleton Ck, 3. James Wrynn; U13 80m & LJ: 1. Dylan Beirne B/more, 2. David O’Connell Ck, 3. Fionn O’Brien B/more; 600m: 1. Dylan Beirne, 2. David O’Connell. 3. Fionn O’Brien; Walk: 1. Fionn O’Brien, 2nd James Honeyman B/more, 3. Dylan Beirne Shot: 1. Fionn O’Brien; 2. Dylan Beirne; U-14: 80m: 1. Shane Surlis Ck, 2. Oisin McLoughlin B/more, 3. Mark Diffley Ck; 800m: 1. Oisin McLoughlin, 2. Shane Surlis; Long Jump: 1. Oisin McLaughlin, 2. Mark Diffley; Shot: 1. Shane Surlis, 2. Mark Diffley; U16: 100m: 1. Kyle McNabola, 2. Jack Gilheaney, 3. Riordan O’Rourke (all B/more); 800m: 1. Jack Gilheaney, 2. Riordan O’Rourke

Mixed Relays: U11: 1. North Leitrim, 2, North Leitrim; U-13: 1. Carrick, 2. Ballinamore, 3. North Leitrim; Over 14: Carrick

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.