08 Aug 2022

Parkrun spirit at Lough Key as Graham wins

Parkrun spirit at Lough Key as Graham wins

Members of Carrick-on-Shannon Athletic Club took part in last Saturday's Lough Key Parkrun. (From left) Dean Beirne, Adrian Lyons and Graham Allen (First Finisher).

There was a good turnout for the final parkrun of 2016 but Lough Key parkrun will be back next Saturday at 9.30 am for the first parkrun of 2017 and every Saturday, all welcome.

From January, Lough Key Parkrun are delighted to be joined by Eastern Gaels GAA and Operation Transformation will again link in with parkrun.

On Saturday last we had several parkrun tourists from South Africa, St. Annes, Poppintree & Marley and we hope they will return to Lough Key soon.

First male home was Graham Allen of Carrick-on-Shannon AC in 19:16, his third time in 11 appearances. Michael Corrigan was second in 20:19 with Daniel Dill third in 20:21.

In the Ladies, Ann Wynne was fourth overall and first lady in 20:46, her tenth win in 16 appearances with Ingrid McGovern of Brothers Pearse AC second in 23:39 and Kathy Butler third in 25:01.

This week there were 78 runners, of whom 18 were first timers and seven recorded new personal bests. Representatives of 7 different athletics clubs took part.

Full results and a complete event history can be found on the Lough Key Parkrun Results Page.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.