26 Sept 2022

Eanna Madden wins Overall Leitrim Sports Star of the Year award

Eanna Madden wins Overall Leitrim Sports Star of the Year award

Eanna Madden is presented with the Overall Award by LCC Caothaoirleach Cllr Finola Armstrong Maguire and Declan Boyle. Photo by James Molloy

Irish international sprinter Eanna Madden was named this year's Overall winner at the 2017 Leitrim Sports Star Awards last Friday evening in Lough Rynn Castle Hotel in Mohill.

The Carrrick-on-Shannon AC sprinter finished off a great year that saw him crowned Irish Senior 200m champion and run for Ireland in the European Team Championships by winning the prestigious award on a night that saw the best of the county's sporting talent honoured.

There was a standing ovation for Aughawillan and Leitrim Ladies football legend Maeve Quinn when she received the Hall of Fame Award on Friday night, fitting recognition for a career that started back in the early 80s and is incredibly still going strong.

Carrick-on-Shannon's Donnacha Holmes' Ironman exploits saw him win the Senior Sports Star of the Year award while the exploits of Manorhamilton's Muireann Devaney in both gaelic football and soccer saw her win the Junior Sports Star award.

Leitrim hurling also had a great night with the County Senior team winning the Team of the Year award after reaching the Lory Meagher Cup Final while Martin Cunniffe won the Volunteer of the Year Award.

Carrick-on-Shannon's Scoil Mhuire won the Best Sports School Award and the Club of the Year title went to Lough Key Triathlon Club who have gone from strength to strength in only 10 years of existence, boasting three internationals during the year.

The Special Achievement Award saw two recipients with Aughnasheelin's Martin McHugh and Ballinaglera's Michael Cornyn picking up awards, former Leitrim 1994 keeper McHugh twice beating cancer to play a key role in Aughnasheelin's Intermediate Final victory at 47 years of age while Michael won gold, silver and bronze at the World Masters Indoor Championship in South Korea at 56 years of age.

There was also a joint award winner in the Juvenile Team of the Year award with Leitrim Ladies U14 All-Ireland winning B team and Carrick-on-Shannon Community Games U10 Gaelic football All-Ireland winning team sharing the award.

The Leitrim Observer Unsung Hero award went to John Cavanagh and Sinead McKeon for their fantastic fundrasing efforts in organising a Limerick to Dromahair cycle that has so far raised in excess of €62,000 for local charities.

Congratulations to all the winners and all those nominated. See this week's Leitrim Observer for more photos and reactions from the Leitrim Sports Star Awards.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.