10 Aug 2022

Leitrim schools share Connacht success

Athletes from a number of Leitrim post primary schools had a share in the awards when the AVIVA Connacht Schools Athletics Championships were held in cold but dry conditions at Athlone IT on Thursday last.

Athletes from a number of Leitrim post primary schools had a share in the awards when the AVIVA Connacht Schools Athletics Championships were held in cold but dry conditions at Athlone IT on Thursday last.

In the race walking events, Leitrim had two firsts when the Beirne sisters, Dearbhaile and Michelle, won the Junior and Intermediate tiles for Mohill Community School while Aisling McNabola of the same school took third in the Junior event. Dearbhaile took control of the event early in the race and won comprehensively before fighting out a tight duel with Elise Bruen for 4th place in the Minor 800m.

In addition Dylan Mimna of Carrigallen Vocational School secured second in the Intermediate Boys 200om event behind Simon Gillespie of Crossmolina.

Louise Mulvaney of St Clare’s Manorhamilton won the Intermediate 300m hurdles while the Ballinamore PPS runners Ryan O’Rourke and Eilish O’Dowd took third in the Junior Boys 800m and Junior Girls 1500m respectively, Ryan showing a good burst of speed over the final 100m to take the bronze.

Eanna Madden of Mohill Community College was second in both Senior 200m and 400m, recording times of 22.3 in the shorter event and 51.3 in the one lap race behind Kieran Elliot while Carrick Community School took second in the Intermediate 400m with Cathal McElgunn, who also took fourth in the 200m in a new personal best, and the Senior 800m with Daire Farrell.

David Bruen won the Intermediate 1500m steeplechase for Carrick Community School with a storming finish over the final 200m to move up from fourth to win, with Keith Beirne of Mohill CC back in 6th place, while his sister Elise took second in the Minor 200m. His team mate Stephen McDermott also took second in the Minor High Jump, clearing 1.50m.

The All Ireland for Senior, Intermediate and Junior qualifiers will take place in Tullamore on Saturday June 2.

Team Competition

The Leitrim Finals of the U-9, 10 & 11 Team competition were held in Carrick-on-Shannon last Wednesday with some fine competition in all events. In the event, the marks or times of both competitors are combined with the best marks winning out.

2011 All-Ireland winners Diarmuid Giblin & James Clinton were impressive winners on the evening in both the U-10 60m and 500m while the Carrick AC pair of Emma O’Connell & Johanna Dietz also caught the eye in winning both the U-10 60m and Long Jump.

Mohill & District AC had impressive winners in Alannah McGuinness and Caroline Dobson in the U-11 60m & Long Jump while Ballinamore’s James Honeyman & Fergal McLoughlin were similarly noteworthy in winning the U-11 60m.

The Western Region Championships will be held in Galway on Saturday, June 9, with the All-Irelands, for those who qualify, in Cork IT on Saturday, June 23.

U-9 Girls: 60m & Long Jump: 1. Marie McGrenaghan & Olwyn Moore (Carrick); U-10: 60m: 1. Emma O’Connell & Johanna Dietz (Carrick), 2. Kate Gilheaney & Ellie O’Rourke (Ballinamore), 3. Ella McDaid & Lara Mulvaney (North Leitrim); 500m: 1. Ellie McDaid & Sarah Brady, 2. Ellie O’Rourke & Kate Gilheaney; Ball Throw: 1. Lara Mulvaney & Sarah Brady (North Leitrim), Long Jump: 1. Johanna Dietz & Emma O’Connell, 2. Aine McGwynne & Niamh Morahan, 3. Bella Rowley & Sarah Murphy (Mohill).

U-11: 60m: 1. Alannah McGuinness & Caroline Dobson (Mohill), 2. Carrie McDaid & Rachel McPartland (North Leitrim), 3. Tarah Graham & Caoimhe McGarry (Carrick); 600m: 1. Carrie McDaid & Rachel McPartland; Ball Throw: 1. Leah Murtagh & Tarah Graham (Carrick); 2. Caoimhe McGarry & Jodie O’Boyle (Carrick), 3. Shannon O’Hagan & Frances Dolan (North Leitrim); Long Jump: 1. Alannah McGuinness & Caroline Dobson, 2. Leah Murtagh & Jodi O’Boyle (Carrick), 3. Shannon O’Hagan & Frances Dolan (North Leitrim).


U-9: 60m: 1. Patrick Charles & Jack Casey (Carrick), 2. Thomas McNabola & Jack Rowley (Mohill), 3. Andrew Shanahan & James Mullaney (Carrick); 300m: 1. Alex O’Boyle & Joe Lowe (Carrick); 2. Matthew Murphy & James Foy (Mohill); Long Jump: 1. Patrick Charles & Alex O’Boyle (Carrick), 2. Jack Rowley & Thomas McNabola (Mohill), 3. Jack Casey & Joe Lowe (Carrick).

U-10: 60m: 1. Diarmuid Giblin & James Clinton (North Leitrim), 2. Oliver Charles & Sean Brennan (Carrick), 3. Aonghus McCrann & Conor Macklin (Mohill); 500m: 1. Diarmuid Giblin & James Clinton, Long Jump: 1. Aonghus McCrann & Conor Macklin, 2. Jack Keeneghan & Oliver Charles (Carrick); Ball Throw: 1. Sean Brennan & Jack Keeneghan (Carrick).

U-11: 60m: 1. James Honeyman & Fergal McLoughlin (Ballinamore), 2. Shane Rynn & Oisin Carney (Carrick), 3. Eoghan Kearns & Emmet Quinn (North Leitrim), Long Jump: 1. Cian Singleton & Oisin Kearney (Carrick), 2. Shane Rynn & Max Kosprovics; Ball Throw: 1. Cian Singleton & Max Kosprovics (Carrick)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.