14 Aug 2022

Leitrim schools star in Moyne cross-country

The victorious St. Brigid's NS Drumcong team who won the team walk at the Western Region Primary Schools Cross-country and Walk in Moyne.
Six Leitrim schools brought home medals from last Saturday’s Connacht Primary Schools Cross Country and Racewalking Championships at Moyne Community School.

Six Leitrim schools brought home medals from last Saturday’s Connacht Primary Schools Cross Country and Racewalking Championships at Moyne Community School.

The Walks competitions got the programme off to a start. These were held on an enclosed road circuit adjacent the school and provided some very stylish walking. The Girls race was won by Roisin Clarke of Ballysadare who was followed home by Sinead McNabola and Rachel Stenson of St Manchan’s, Mohill.

With Chloe Mulligan fifth and Lorraine Foy sixth St Manchan’s won the team award with 16 points, ahead of Mercy Sligo on 34 points.

The Boys’ event was won by Eoin Gaffey of St Manchan’s with Fionn O’Brien of St Bridget’s, Drumcong third and he led his team of Peter Winters, Aidan McCormack and Dylan Easterbrook to team victory with 25 points.

Ella McDaid of Drumlease ran a great race to take third place in the Junior Girls cross-country in the huge field of 119 runners. Another great performance was that of Sarah Brady of Largy who finished 12th and, more importantly, in the medals. Leitrim school placings were St Clare’s 10th, St Manchan’s 13th and St Caillin’s 14th.

The Junior boys event saw another excellent performance from Patrick Montgomery of St Clare’s whose strong finish took him into the silver medal. The Leitrim placings were St Clare’s 11th, Gaelscoil Liathroma 12th & St Manchan’s 13th.

Two Leitrim athletes were among the medals in the Senior Girls race with Alannah McGuinness of St Manchan’s eighth and Ellie O’Rourke of St Caillins in 12th position. St Caillin’s were ninth on 216 and St Manachan’s 10th on 227.

The Senior Boys race provided a welcome home victory with Cian McPhillips of Ardagh taking the top award. Fiacra Mac Einri of Gaelscoil Liathroma was first Leitrim runner home in 26th while Gaelscoil Liathroma were fourth with St Caillin’s 12th.

The event has been run annually since March 1976 and last Saturday’s must have been one of the best, if not the best, organised of that long time. The large organising team was led by Padraig Farrell who was until recently a long standing member of Carrick AC and is now Chairman of Longford AC.

County Cross-country

The Leitrim AAI County Cross Country Championships which take place in St Felim’s Ballinamore, on Saturday next at 12 midday provide an opportunity for clubs to select their entries for the Connacht Championships. The events on Saturday are: U11 (born 2003 or later) 1200m; U13 (born 2001 or 2002) 2000m; U15 (born 1999 or 2000) 2500m; U17 (born 1997 or 1998) 3000m Boys 2500m Girls; Over 17 2500m Girls 5000m Boys

Teams are of maximum six with four to count for Under 11 and Under 13 and three for the other events. Medals for first three teams and individuals. Entry fee €4 per athlete. Entries will be taken at St Felim’s dressing rooms where dressing accommodation is available. The Sports Hall will not be available this Saturday.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.