St Mel’s Cathedral project committee has, following a tendering process, sent a letter of intent to Longford building firm Gem Construction (in association with Purcell Construction of Galway) asking them to carry out work on the historic cathedral.
The cathedral, which opened in 1856, was gutted by a fire that began in a chimney flue, leading from a boiler, in the early hours of Christmas Day in 2009.
Select works are expected to begin in the next three weeks.
The restoration work is currently restricted by an appeal lodged with An Bord Pleanála last April in relation to the replacement of the roof and the sub-floor.
Work will now begin on parts of the building not under appeal with An Bord Pleanála.
This work includes the replacement of 26 limestone columns and pilasters, repairing external stonework around windows and replacing internal plaster up to ceiling level.