Confusion for candidates and
voters as bye-election looms

The upcoming bye-election for Roscommon/South Leitrim has caused some confusion for not just candidates but voters as well.

The upcoming bye-election for Roscommon/South Leitrim has caused some confusion for not just candidates but voters as well.

Candidate signage has been seen around Leitrim Village even though this area is not in the constituency and a number of people have been in contact with the Leitrim Observer, unsure of whether they will be entitled to vote in South Leitrim, or if they fall into the Sligo/North Leitrim constituency instead.

Co Leitrim was split into two electoral divisions Sligo/North Leitrim and Roscommon/South Leitrim in 2004, but in 2007 the Constituency Review Committee altered the borders of the constituencies taking a large chunk out of South Leitrim and putting it into the Sligo/North Leitrim constituency. A total population of 3,376 was transferred to Sligo/ North Leitrim. This balanced up the population of the two constituencies to around 74,000 each.

The result means that those living in Drumshanbo, Keshcarrigan, Leitrim Village, Yugan, Drumreilly East, Drumreilly West, Stralongford, Barnameenagh, Aghacashel and Moher are no longer in the Roscommon/South Leitrim constituency and are, therefore, not entitled to vote in this Friday’s bye-election.

The following are the locations of the polling stations for the bye-election:

• Aughavas NS

• Aughnasheelin NS

• Ballinamore Infants School

(3 Booths)

• Carrigallen NS (2 Booths)

• Clogher Community Centre

• Cloone Community Centre

(2 Booths)

• Cornageeha Social Centre

• Drumeela NS

• Drumlea NS

• Fenagh NS (2 Booths)

• Newtowngore NS

• Annaduff NS

• Carrick-on-Shannon New

Courthouse (5 Booths)

• Currycramph NS

• Dromod Primary Care Centre

• Drumsna Community Centre

• Eslin Community Centre

• Gortletteragh Central NS

• Gorvagh Community Centre

• Jamestown Community


• Kilnagross NS

• Kiltoghert Community


• Mohill NS (3 Booths)

Those entitled to vote will receive a polling card in the coming days detailing exactly where your polling station is.

The following candidates will be seeking election this Friday, October 10:

Ivan Connaughton (FF); Emmett Corcoran (IND); Tom Crosby (IND); Michael Fitzmaurice (IND); Des Guckian (IND); Maura Hopkins (FG); John Kelly (LAB); Martin Kenny (SF); John McDermott (IND); and Gerry O’Boyle (IND).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.