01 Jul 2022

Clarity sought as IFA fails to elect Connacht Chair

Second bid to elect Chair fails

Clarity sought as IFA fails to elect Connacht Chair

Clarity is being sought after a second bid to elect a Connacht Chairperson of IFA failed to secure a viable candidate for the post.

Roscommon IFA member, John O'Beirne had been the only viable candidate in the first selection process, obtaining backing from counties Roscommon and Leitrim. However, nominations for the post of Connacht Chair were re-opened after his candidacy came into question over a technicality on whether he was a 'full time' farmer.

IFA re-opened the nomination process last week and at the close of business on Friday, five candidates were nominated: Eddie Davitt in Sligo; Padraic Joyce in Mayo; Des McHugh in Leitrim; Tom Turley in Galway and John O'Beirne in Roscommon.

However all five failed to secure backing by a second Connacht county as required under the current rules.

Following this, IFA National Returning Officer, Jer Bergin, announced that no candidate has been validly nominated for the position of Connacht Regional Chairman at the close of nominations.

Mr O'Beirne says he believes the fairest way of resolving the Connacht Chairperson election is to put names on a ballot sheet.

The National Rules Committee will meet next week to discuss the situation.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.