01 Jul 2022

Voting underway in Northern Ireland for Westminster elections


Voting is underway in our neighbouring county Fermanagh to elect an MP to Westminster in the UK election.

Polls are open until 10pm tonight and the new MPs are expected to be known tomorrow morning, Friday, June 9.

There are five candidates on the ballot paper in Fermanagh- South Tyrone and voters must place an X on the candidate they chose. The candidates are: Noreen Campbell (Alliance), Tom Elliott (UUP), Mary Garrity (SDLP), Michelle Gildernew (Sinn Féin) and Tanya Jones (Green Party).

In the 2015 Westminster elections 72.5% of the electorate voted.

Unless a recount is called it is understood the results will be known early on Friday morning.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.