26 May 2022

Marking GAA anniversaries in Leitrim

Marking GAA anniversaries in Leitrim

Major local anniversaries will be celebrated this year in the parish areas that the Glencar/Manorhamilton GAA Club now operates in, namely Mullies, Glencar and Manorhamilton.
Almost sixty years ago on Sunday evening, October 26, 1958, the Seán McDermott’s Gaelic Football Club Manorhamilton won the first ever Leitrim football championship to come to the Glencar/Manorhamilton GAA Club area.
That evening in Seán O’Heslin Memorial Park, Ballinamore the Seán McDermott’s team defeated a strong Annaduff side by 3 – 6 to 1 – 8 to win their first ever and only Leitrim junior football championship title.
The Seán McDermott’s team line out that made history on October 26, 1958 was Laurie Feehily (RIP); Austin McDonald (RIP), Don O’Connor, Frank Kelly; John Rooney (RIP), Patsy McBride (RIP), Eugene Gilroy; Jimmy O’Donnell, Mick O’Dell(RIP); Dinny O’Leary, Seamus Rooney, Phil Gilheaney; Packie Feehily, Willie O’Rourke and Fr. Colm Connolly (RIP).
The other members of the Seán McDermott’s panel in 1958 were Patsy Ferguson, Oliver Haslette, Hugh O’Hara (RIP), Oliver Keaney and Jimmy Rooney. Ten years ago on Sunday night, June 1, 2008 the Glencar/Manor GAA Club hosted a golden jubilee celebratory event for the 1958 Seán McDermott’s team in the Bee Park Community Centre.
Meantime fifty years ago on December 22, 1968 the St. Patrick’s Glencar GAA team claimed the Club’s second ever Leitrim junior league title when they defeated Mohill in the final that was played in Dromahair.
The winning St. Patrick’s Glencar team line out was Frank Coll; Ned Curneen, Big John Rooney (RIP), Michael Gillespie; Bernie McDonald, Kevin McDonald, Tommie O’Connor; Fr. Harry O’Carroll, Tom McDonald; John Rooney, Kevin Rooney, John McCann; Sean Farrell, Michael Rooney and Leo McDonald.
The other members of the St. Patrick’s Glencar panel in 1968 were Seamus Devaney, Vincent Devaney, Sean Curneen, Barry Lambe, Frank Brady, Dessie McGowan (RIP), Packie Feehily, John O’Rourke, Austin McDonald (RIP) and Brendan Rooney.
Fr. Harry O’Carroll was the team captain. The team selectors were Leo McDonald Senior (RIP), Vincent Devaney and Michael Gillespie. The winning of a most important national cultural title was achievement by the Glencar/Manor GAA Club on May 22, 1993 when a troupe of eight dancers won the Club’s first ever All-Ireland Scór title.
This happened at the All-Ireland Senior Scór finals in the Noel C. Duggan Green Glens Complex in Millstreet, Co. Cork when Glencar/Manor claimed the national GAA figure dance adult crown.
The winning 1993 Glencar/Manor figure dance troupe members were Diarmuid Sweeney, Nora O’Rourke, Aidan Rooney, Caroline Kennedy, Gerard Shanley, Kathleen O’Rourke, Damien O’Brien, and Suzanne Gilligan.
Meantime the winning 1993 Glencar/Manor figure dance troupe’s musicians in Millstreet were Gráinne Doherty, Oliver Lee and Deirdre Doherty. The winning Glencar/Manor figure dance troupe’s teacher and coach was Claire Faragher McMorrow.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.