Two local TDs vote for politician pay increase

Two local TDs vote for politician pay increase

Dáil Eireann

Last week TDs voted to give themselves a pay hike defeating a motion by Sinn Féin to halt the increase.
The pay increase/ restoration of €5,000 extra over the next two years is part of the Haddingtons Road Agreement for public servants.

Sinn Féin tabled a motion last Thursday, November 10 to stop the increase but the Government and Fianna Fáil joined to pass a counter motion.

Sligo Leitrim TDs Tony McLoughlin (FG) and Eamon Scanlon (FF) voted for the counter motion to continue with the pay hike.
While Deputy Martin Kenny (SF) supported his party's motion to halt the pay increase, along with Roscommon's Michael Fitzmaurice (IND) and Cavan's Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin (SF).

Deputy Marc MacSharry (FF) did not vote, neither did neighbouring Fianna Fáil deputies Eugene Murphy from Roscommon and Brendan Smith from Cavan.

The basic salary of a TD is currently at €87,258. This was cut from €92,672 in recent years.
Under the terms of the Haddington Road Agreement, civil servants earning between €80,000 and €150,000 had their salary reduced by 8%. For TDs this amounted to about €5,400.

This restoration will take place , on 1 April 2017 and later on 1 January 2018.

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.