17 post offices remain in Leitrim

Fiona Heavey


Fiona Heavey

An Post

There are 17 post offices in operation in Leitrim and no post office has closed in the county over the past four years.
These are the figures according to the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Michael Ring.

Answering a question by Sligo Deputy Eamon Scanlon in Dáil Eireann last week, the Minister said “No post offices have closed in County Leitrim over the period 2012–2016.”

In the same period, two post offices closed in Cavan, two in Donegal and one in Co Sligo. One post office, in Ballygawley, Co Sligo is currently in a consultation process with the local community with regard to its retention in the locality.
Ballinamore is still awaiting the transfer of the current post office to a new location in the town.