Search our Archive


The final 1916 commemoration was held in Corraleehan

The final 1916 commemoration was held in Corraleehan

Pictured at the unveiling on December 28 were Tracy Mc Tague, Adrian Smith, Jim Smith of Smith Monumentals, Ballinamore

Corraleehan Heritage & Cultural Society unveiled a marble proclamation and commemorative stone on December 28, 2016, closing off the year of the centenary of the 1916 Rising.

In what was the last event commemorating the heroes of 1916, the local group erected a stone monument along with the Proclamation close to the old Deradda Post Office.

Pictured left to right back row: Hugh prior, Michael Gilheany ,John Mc Govern, Mary McGovern, Pat Joe Mc Niffe, Helen McGovern.

Front Row: Tracy McTague, Clare McNiffe, Imelda Prior, Evan Prior.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.