Leitrim Sports Star award
nominees announced

editorial image
For the past number of weeks the people of Leitrim have been submitting nominations for the Leitrim Sports Star Awards in 10 different categories.

For the past number of weeks the people of Leitrim have been submitting nominations for the Leitrim Sports Star Awards in 10 different categories.

In most categories three have been shortlisted by our panel of judges and the winner in each category will be announced at the “Leitrim Sports Star Awards” which will take place on Saturday 9th November 2013 in the Landmark Hotel, Carrick on Shannon. The standard was so high that in some categories, it was only possible to shortlist down to four.

The winner of the Leitrim Sports Person of the Year Award has been chosen from one of the above shortlisted nominees. Congratulations to each and every one on being nominated for a Leitrim Sports Star Award, your dedication and hard work in sport is being recognised.

Each winner will receive a specially handcrafted award, crafted by a Leitrim artist presented by each of our generous sponsors.

A special night of celebration is planned by Leitrim Sports Partnership with a 4 course meal being served, followed by the awards and appearances by some very special guests. MC for the evening will be Shannonside radio’s very own sports reporter John Lynch.

Should anyone wish to come along to support the nominees and enjoy what promises to be an excellent night of celebration you can purchase a ticket for € 35 online at www.leitrimsports.ie or by calling Leitrim Sports Partnership on 071 9650498 or emailing us on sports@leitrimcoco.ie

We would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsors for their support: Leitrim County Council, The Landmark Hotel, Cora Systems, Bradley Clinic, Leitrim Development Company, Aura Leitrim Leisure, Leitrim County Enterprise Board, Woodies DIY, KPF Sports Ground Contracts and Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens.

The nominees in the various categories are as follows:

Sports Individual Junior: Dearbhaile Beirne, Soccer; Tom Mc Cabe, Carrick Rowing; John Finnegan, Badminton; Joanna Duignan, Athletics

Volunteer of the Year: Aidan Lenehan, Carrick Rugby Club; Patrick Mc Morrow, Glencar Manor GAA Club; Patsy Mc Govern, Melvin Gaels GAA

Sports Individual Senior: Donnacha Holmes, Ironman; Stephen Flynn, Boxing; Liam Mc Tiernan, Sligo/Leitrim Senior Soccer Team

Best Sports School: Carrigallen Vocational School; Carrick Community School, Carrick on Shannon; St Clare’s N.S, Manorhamilton.

Men’s Team of the Year: Cluainín Iomáint (Glencar/Manor Hurling Team); Carrick Town F.C.; St Mary’s GAA Senior Team

Ladies Team of the Year: Brid Sullivan & Breda Travers Golf; Aughawillian Ladies GAA Senior Team, Glencar Manorhamilton Ladies Senior Team

Juvenile Team of the Year: Carrick U10 GAA Community Games Team; Leitrim GAA U16, Teb Webb Team; Carrick Community School Senior Girls GAA Team.

Special Achievement Award: Lough Key Triathlon Club, Ironmen; Gaelic for Mothers, Melvin Gaels Programme; St Mary’s GAA Club, 7 A Side Tournament

Exceptional Service to Sport & Recreation - Hall of Fame: Padraig Griffin, Ballinamore Athletics Club.

Leitrim’s Sports Person of the Year 2013: The winner to be announced on the night!