New courts at Carrick Tennis Club officially opened

Carrick Tennis Club is officially ‘Open for business all year round’!

Carrick Tennis Club is officially ‘Open for business all year round’!

We would like to thank the fantastic turnout of support we received on Friday afternoon despite the rain! Our distinguished guests of honours were Mary Dunne and Dermot Gallagher who delighted all with their vivid memorable tales of the town and tennis club in times past.

Tom Lavin from Leitrim Development Company and Joe Gilhooley from Leitrim County council along with our local councilors, Sinead Guckian, Enda Stenson and Gerry Reynolds and Fr Garvey and Rev Atkins all shared in the afternoons celebrations with pride.

We would like to acknowledge the clubs president Nicholas Campbell for his memorable words and to all the committee members past and present who worked so tirelessly to achieve this milestone in the clubs journey. A final word of thanks to Joe and Rose Dolan of the Bush Hotel, Not only did they shelter us from the rain, but also sponsored the delicious spread for such a large crowd all afternoon. Thank you one and all, it was greatly appreciated.

Members evening and morning: Tuesday evenings at 8pm and Sunday mornings at 12 noon. This is excellent way for anyone who is thinking about joining the club to meet up with new and old members /organise play dates etc.

Now taking membership for 2012 /2013. Juniors/OAPS 20eur, Seniors €30, Family €60.

Lessons: Saturday lessons at 11am -12 for 5-12 year olds and then 12-1pm for Adults /improvers and Wednesday evenings 6-9pm. Call Carrick Tennis Club coach Olwyn 0863514123 for more details or email / facebook ‘carricktennisclub’ any queries to the club directly.

Allianz Leitrim Cumann na mBunscol

Well done to all teams who took part in the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol finals over the last two weeks and congratulations to all our winners. Well done also to all the supporters for making such a big effort on the finals days and making the occasion even more special for their teams. This year the most colourful supporters award goes to Gortletteragh NS for their very impressive display of green and yellow in Pairc Sean.

The following are the winners of the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Fair Play Awards. Well done to all schools. Schools League Division: 1) Drumshanbo NS 2) Fenagh NS 3) Bornacoola NS 4) St. Hugh’s Dowra 5A) Ardvarney 5B) Masterson NS Girls’ League Division: 1) Carrick GNS 2) Leitrim NS 3A) Gortletteragh NS 3B) Cloone NS. The awards will be presented in the Bush Hotel this evening Wednesday, June 20, at 6 pm. Please send representatives from your school to accept this award. Refreshments will be served.

Carrick Tag Rugby

Our annual Summer Tag Rugby continues each Thursday evening thereafter, register your team now at For any further information contact 086 0888978.