Leitrim Sports Star 2017 Nominations announced

Maeve Quinn wins 2017 Leitrim Sports Star Hall of Fame Award

Leitrim Sports Star Awards night on Friday, November 24

Leitrim Sport


Leitrim Sport

Maeve Quinn wins 2017 Leitrim Sports Star Hall of Fame Award

2017 Hall of Fame winner Maeve Quinn pictured with her son Eoghan and daughter Edel after Leitrim won the 2007 All-Ireland Intermediate title

Leitrim Ladies football legend Maeve Quinn is the 2017 winner of the Leitrim Sports Star Hall of Fame award.

Quinn follows in the footsteps of Frances Cryan, Pakie McGarty, Padraig Griffin, John King, Mary Keenan and Joe Flynn and will receive her award at the Leitrim Sports Star Awards, organised by the Leitrim Sports Partnership, on Friday, November 24.

That night, held in the Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens Hotel, will see Leitrim's best sporting stars and achievements from 2017 honoured on what is a great celebration of Leitrim sport.

The two-time All-Ireland winner with Leitrim, Maeve Quinn has been a fantastic servant for Leitrim ladies football from the time she first won a national medal with the Ballinamore Area Community Games team in the early eighties.

An All-Ireland Junior title followed in 1988 and showing incredible longevity, Maeve was still playing a key role for the County side when the Intermediate title was claimed in 2007. And she is still currently heavily involved in the administration of the game in the county, serving as a selector for the Ladies Senior team while also still lining with Aughawillan during the year.

We are delighted to reveal the shortlisted nominees as follows. The winners will be announced on the night:

Sports Individual Junior

Dillon Beirne - Golf

Muireann Devaney - Gaelic Football/Soccer

Matthew Earley - Rugby/ Gaelic Football

Áine Lyons - Gymnastics

Niall Morahan - Soccer

Sports Individual Senior

Ailbhe Clancy - Soccer/Gelic Football

Donnacha Holmes - Ironman

Dympna Kelly - Triathlon

Eanna Madden - Athletics

Liam Moreton - Hurling

Gerard O’Donnell - Athletics

Juvenile Team of the Year

Carrick Area U10 Community Games Team

Glencar/Manorhamilton U13 Boys Team

Leitrim U16 Hurling Team

Leitrim Ladies U14 Team

St. Clare's CS Manorhamilton First Year Soccer team

Team of the Year

Leitrim Junior Football Team

Leitrim Senior Hurling Team

Mohill GAA Senior Team

St. Joseph’s Ladies Team

Club of the Year

Lough Key Triathlon Club

Carrick Gymnastics Club

Drumshanbo Athletic Club

Drumsna Boxing Club

Volunteer of the Year

Martin Cunniffe - Hurling

Dennis Doonan - Athletics

Marie Honeyman - Basketball

Eileen Maxwell - Triathlon

Ann McGloin - Ladies Football

Best Sports School

Aughnasheelin NS

Largy NS

Scoil Mhuire NS Carrick on Shannon

Special Achievement Award

Michael Cornyn - Athletics

Melvin Gaels Gaelic 4 Girls

Melvin Gaels Gaelic 4 Mothers and Others

Martin McHugh - Gaelic Football

Leitrim Observer Unsung Hero

John Kavanagh & Sinead McKeon - Dromahair

Hall of Fame

Maeve Quinn