25 Jun 2022

Flashback to when Leitrim Ladies were All Ireland Champions in 1988

Flashback to when Leitrim Ladies were All Ireland Champions in 1988

The Leitrim Ladies team that won the All Ireland Junior title in 1988

Pictured are the Leitrim team who defeated London to win the county's first ever All Ireland Ladies Junior Championship in 1988.

Goals in either half from Deirdre Quinn and Ann Marie Cox sealed a 2-8 to 0-5 win for Leitrim in Croke Park where the midfield dominance of Maeve Quinn and Mary McDermott proved crucial.

Back, from left, Noeleen Geoghegan, Helen McLoughlin, Mary Quinn, Marie McGovern, Maeve Quinn, Pauline Gilheaney, Stella McGriskin, Geraldine Wrynne.

Front, from left, Caroline Mitchell, Martina Flanagan, Bernie Donnelly, Liz Hargaden (Captain), Deirdre Quinn, Ann Marie Cox, Mary McDermott. Mascot: Ciara O'Brien.

Not pictured above but on the bench were Mary Brennan, Patricia McNiff, Nicola Cox, Louise Kilraine, Doreen Mitchell, Mary Shanley, Bernie Donnelly, Sheila Heeran, Concepta Kelly and Deirdre Harris

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.