Good start not enough for Allen Gaels

Benny O'Rourke tries to wrestle the ball away last Saturday in Cloone. Photo by Willie Donnellan
29 secs: Allen Gaels start impressively with Ryan Higgins firing over a great point after just 29 seconds.

29 secs: Allen Gaels start impressively with Ryan Higgins firing over a great point after just 29 seconds.

1 mins: Thomas Mulvey adds to the Gaels start with a lovely point from the left wing.

8 mins: Pressure forces a turnover and Martin Beirne thumps over a huge score.

18 mins: With Carrigallen missing a host of chances, Brian Mulvey shows them how its done with a fine point.

19 mins: Eamon O’Malley blasts wide with a goal on the cards as he broke through the Gaels defence.

20 mins: A foul on Nicholas Moore sees Emmet Burke score a fine point.

24 mins: Carrigallen finally get off the mark when a moved in free is converted by Benny O’Rourke.

30 mins: Carrigallen play a free across to Gary Reynolds who scores.

32 mins: Carrigallen patience pays off as a well-worked move ends with Benny O’Rourke pointing.

HT: Carrigallen 0-3 Allen Gaels 0-5

31 mins: Carrigallen quickly start where they left off with a curling O’Rourke point from the left wing.

34 mins: A block on a Michael McManus sets up J.P. McManus for a point.

37 mins: Carrigallen go in front after O’Rourke scores another lovely point.

40 mins: Allen Gaels hit back with a huge Martin Beirne point after a quick free.

42 mins: Emmet Burke converts a free but Liam O’Rourke sees a long range shot level the scores.

44 mins: Veteran Andrew McManus chips a lovely shot over the Gaels bar.

46 mins: After a poor wide from a Gary Reynolds free, Liam O’Rourke adds a second point after a good move to put Carrigallen two up.

51 mins: Allen Gaels come back with a Burke free to narrow the gap to a point.

55 mins: Kevin Nolan blocks a shot from Clifford Richardson after a free in.

FT: Carrigallen 0-9 Allen Gaels 0-8

Carrigallen: Enda Lyons, Daniel Lyons, David Flynn, Karl Ward, Alex McFarlane, Gary Reynolds (0-1), Darren Reilly, Kevin Davey, Clifford Richardson, Pauric Doyle, J.P. McManus (0-1), Liam O’Rourke (0-1), Gerard Percival, Benny O’Rourke (0-4), Eamon O’Malley. Subs: Andrew McManus (0-1) for Percival (5 mins), Noel Doonan for McFarlane (HT), Sean McCabe for Doyle (42 mins).

Allen Gaels: Kevin Nolan, Ciaran Mattynssens, Adrian Sorohan, David Wynne, Martin Raferty, Colm McGovern, Alan Wynne, Thomas Mulvey (0-1), Michael McManus, Martin Beirne (0-2), Sean McGourty, James Flynn, Brian Mulvey (0-1), Ryan Higgins (0-1), Emmet Burke (0-3). Subs: Nicholas Moore for McGourty (14 mins), Mark Gunning for B. Mulvey (HT), Derek McGourty for M. McManus (38 mins), Shane Walsh, B. Mulvey.

Referee: Derek Moran.