Drumreilly Community News

Church News

Church News

Mass on Saturday at 12 noon with celebrant, Fr. John Quinn. The Vigil Mass for the Third Sunday of Easter on Saturday at 8.00 pm will be hosted by The Holy Ghost Fathers during which they will make their appeal for donations. Servers are Group 3 with Sheila Mc Cabe in charge. Eucharistic Adoration each Tuesday evening at 7.00 pm followed by Prayer Service with Communion at 8.00 pm. Any outstanding Trócaire contributions for 2013 should be submitted as soon as possible.

Pilgrimage to Fatima 2013

The annual pilgrimage to Fatima takes place from the 1st August to the 8th August. 7 nights full board ensuite in the Tres Pastorinhos Hotel which is situated beside the sanctuary. Cost €739. Guided yours, bus from Ballinamore via Cavan to Dublin airport return cost approx €30, spiritual director: Fr Tom McManus P.P, for details contact Mamie Flynn, phone 071 96 44148.

Bus to Knock

Apostolate of Perpetual Eucharistic Adoration Pilgrimage to Knock on Saturday, 20th April celebrated by Archbishop Charles Brown, the Apostolic Nuncio. It is hoped to run a bus from Drumreilly if we have enough numbers. For more information please contact Mrs Eleanor Gannon at 0719644374 as soon as possible.

McCartin S.D. Feiseanna Results

Pupils from the Mc Cartin SD competed at Feiseanna in Crossmolina, Co. Mayo, Kilbride, Co. Roscommon and Ashbourne, Co. Meath recently. The following dancers figured amongst the winners: Sarah Greene, Aughavas, Rose McLoughlin, Fenagh, Louise Cafferty, Gorvagh, Éadaoin Casey, Aughavas, Rachel Mc Intyre, Aughavas, Deirbhile Currid, Aughavas, Caoimhe Cullen, Aughnasheelin, Darragh Gunn, Aughnasheelin, Conor Edwards, Newtowngore, Clara O’Kelly, Drumeela, Lisa Gill, Cloone, Sinéad Edwards, Newtowngore, Emer McCabe, Drumreilly, Michelle McCabe, Drumreilly, Éabha Gill, Fenagh, Alannah Gunn, Aughnasheelin, Aliene McPartland, Kildallan, Niamh McCabe, Drumreilly, Niamh Donegan, Drumreilly, Caoimhe Gaffney, Drumreilly, Ella Galligan Maguire, Drumreilly, Ciara Gaffney, Drumreilly, Sinéad McGovern, Drumreilly, Brian Murphy, Killeshandra, Clodagh Mitchell, Mohill, Óníosa Mimna, Drumreilly, Tom Gilheany, Fenagh, Luke Murphy, Killeshandra and Kate Gilheany, Fenagh.

“Best on Foot” at Ballinamore: Away from the Feis circuit successes the McCartin SD continued their winning ways when they took part in the Ballinamore, St. Patricks Day Parade. Twenty seven pupils entered the “Best on Foot” category, and having braved the inclement weather, they stepped it out to perform a traditional mix in front of the viewing stand. The judges were impressed by their fancy footwork, and the Group won the “Best on Foot” Award. Cómhgáirdeas!

Class Championships

The McCartin SD Class Championships were held in Drumreilly Community Centre on Easter Saturday. The following were among the prizewinners Fundraising Cake Sale In October 2013, 45 pupils from the McCartin SD will make the trip across the Irish Sea to compete at the CRN UK Championships, which will be held in Swansea, Wales. A number of mini fundraising initiatives will be taking place in the coming months. The school hosted a Cake Sale on Easter Saturday night following mass. It proved a great success thanks to those who contributed to the array of cakes and desserts on offer, and to those who supported the venture! Your support was greatly appreciated.


Sympathy is extended to Mr. Don Bracken, Keelrin on the death of his sister Mrs. Teresa Cahill, Carraignafoy, Cobh, Co. Cork. Her funeral took place on Tuesday April 5th following Requiem Mass in St. Colman’s Cathedral to St. Colman’s Cemetery. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam.

Division 1 Game

Drumreilly bagged two Division 1 points with a 0-11 to 0-8 win after an energy-sapping encounter against Annaduff in the goal-to-goal biting gale at Páirc Stanislaus Uí Coilig on Easter Monday afternoon. The Drumreilly lineout was as follows: Mick McGirl, Kevin Holahan, John McKeon, Anthony Holahan, Graeme Taylor, Nigel Maguire (4pts-3fs.), David O’Connell, Declan Maxwell, Seán Fee, Ronan McCartin, Damon Maguire, (pt.), Brian Fee, Cormac Maguire (2pts), James Holahan (pt.) and Conor Gaffney (3pts.). Sub used: Adrian McGirl.

Visit to Poland

Four students from Ballinamore P.P.S. have been chosen to spend ten days in Poland, where they will immerse themselves in the study of that country’s culture. The visit is part of the compilation of an R.T.E. documentary, which is due to be broadcast next autumn. We wish the quartet of Kayla Maguire, daughter of Oliver and Caroline Maguire, Aughalough and her fellow-students John Joe McGovern, Brian Deering and Ciana Stringer an enjoyable and fulfilling stay.

Bingo Winners

The following were among the winners on last Friday in Drumreilly Community Centre: Geraldine Prior, Ballinamore, Andrew McNiff, Carrickmakeegan, Anne Masterson, Ardra, Siobhán Gannon, Drimmien, Mary Curran, Aughavas, Una Maguire, Aughalough, Patricia Morrow, Ballykiltyfea, Shirley Gooheen, Drumraine, Bernadette Dooner, Ballinamore, Margaret McKeon, Aughatowney, Oníosa Mimna, Drumshangore, Michael McGovern, Crossdrummon, Mae Canning, Annaghmacullen, Kathleen Canning, Bohey, Thomas Tierney, Carrigallen, Bernadette Grimes, Drumconlevan, Berni Smith, Drumury, Eileen Wrynn, Tarmon, Molly Prior, Lisacarn, Declan Darcy, Aughawillan, Benny Connolly, Drumlea, Kathleen Carthy, Clogher, Lily Curran and Eileen Wrynn, Tarmon. Bingo will continue on next Friday night at 9.00 p.m. As ever the Committee thanks you for your support.

Recalling April 1991

Wedding bells rang in St. Mary’s Church, Drumlea for Des Donegan and Josephine Quinn. Drumreilly prevailed against Fenagh, Cloone and Carrigallen in the U-16 League The panel was Denis Smith, Francis Flynn, Seán Mitchell, Pádraig Lunney, Christopher Mimna, Niall Bohan, Martin Flynn, Thomas Connolly, Ollie Maguire, Paul Plunkett, Thomas Gannon, Noel McGirl, Connell McGovern, John McGovern, Declan McCauley and Ciaran Holahan. Foróige Group members Catherine Reilly, Edel Conefrey, Rose McGirl, Martina Prior, Imelda Holahan, Deirdre Prior and Connell planted a number of ornamental shrubs in the flower beds at the Community Centre.

The following received the Sacrament of Confirmation: Rosaleen Holahan, Sheena Denneny, Naomi Caroline and John Donegan, Joanne and Michelle Holahan, Lorraine McGirl, Regina McEnroy, Noel Rourke, Gene Connolly, Oliver Looby, John Hehle James P. Gannon and Brendan Smith. The following officers wee elected the revived Drumreilly I.C.A. Branch: President: Patricia McCartin; Secretary: Rose Conefrey; Treasurer: Rose McKeon. The death took place of Drumdiffer-born Mr. Tom McKiernan, Portlaoise. R.I.P.