10 Aug 2022

Blacklion Golf Club celebrate year of great success

What a night in Blacklion as members, family and friends turned out in force for Blacklion Golf Club’s Christmas party.

Captain Eugene Walsh noted that Blacklion had entered five teams in competitions and had won four of them. He then called on the team captains to introduce their teams and all were cheered to the echo.

The blue riband went to the Irish Fourball team which became Ulster Champions.

Open Fourball Competition: This competition, the brainchild of Captain Eugene was an outstanding success and contributed greatly to the solvency of the club.

No club can exist without sponsorship and the major sponsor of this competition was Neven Maguire who was introduced to great acclaim. Neven spoke passionately about community and how this was epitomised in Blacklion Golf Club. He was delighted to sponsor this competition and hoped to continue this partnership.

Neven then presented the top prize to Jimmy Donovan and Patsy McCorry.

The Kinawley Cup for singles matchplay was presented to Darren Boyle while Seamus Falconer and Ciaran Maguire accepted the Glenfarne Cup for doubles matchplay.

Lady Captain Pat Alston then introduced Vera Waters as the lady golfer of the year.

Finally, Kevin McPartland was announced as golfer of the year. Kevin’s success was more remarkable because he played most of the year with a handicap of three. Celebrations continued well into Sunday morning.

Winter League: Peter Cumisky won the individual prize in week one of the league and finished week eight with yet another win. Week 8: 1. Peter Cumisky 34, 2. Michael McAloon 33, 3. Sean Flanagan 32

The top individual of the league was Jason Martin who shot 224 points for the seven weeks - an outstanding display of consistency which led to his team’s success.

The overall winner was team 4. Mark Connolly led his team of Mel McLoughlin, Jason Martin, Vera Waters and Narm Boshle to a convincing victory.

Turkey Competition: 1 Paul McKenna 34, 2 Michael McHugh 34

The presentation of all winter league and turkey prizes takes place on December 23, so there is still time to win that elusive turkey.

PS: Thomas Cullen completed 2016 with a hole-in-one on the thirteenth.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login
Leitrim winners at All Ireland Fleadh Cheoil

Saoirse Ní Chéileachair of CCÉ, Ballinamore, 2nd Place All Ireland Winner for the Whistle Slow Airs “Matt Cunningham Cup” (O18) at the 2022 Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann All Ireland Fleadh Cheoil

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.