02 Dec 2021

Mohill Ladies win first ever Division One crown

Mohill created their own slice of history by winning the club’s first ever Leitrim Ladies Division One title last Sunday in Ballinamore while also gaining a small measure of revenge over St. Joseph’s for their championship final loss.

Mohill created their own slice of history by winning the club’s first ever Leitrim Ladies Division One title last Sunday in Ballinamore while also gaining a small measure of revenge over St. Joseph’s for their championship final loss.

In common with the Men’s League Final where Glencar/Manorhamilton overcome their Championship final conquerors after extra-time, Mohill Ladies did the same as they were denied victory in normal time by a late Deirdre Moran point that sent the game to extra-time. But they were not to be denied in extra-time as they ran out three point winners.

Sunday was quite a day for the Mohill club with their U-16 Boys winning their “A” Final in Carrigallen, a game that also went to extra-time, but one wonders how three major finals (Men’s Division One, Ladies Division One and U-16) could be scheduled for the same day and almost the same time.

It created a lot of pressure on supporters and does nothing for the promotion of any of the games particularly when there was no major finals taking place on the Saturday!

That will matter little to Mohill who finish the year on a high and the best feature of this game was the talent of the younger players for both teams. Carmel McGovern, the Heslin twins Aine and Michelle for St Joseph’s, Claire Beirne, Caoimhe McGuinness, Caoimhe Canning and Aileen Flynn for Mohill, to name but a few, all truly talented underage players serving their Senior teams.

Catherine Dolan of St Joseph’s got the first point of the game after five minutes of play before Mohill’s Caoimhe McGuinness, who had the game of her life, got their opening score. The young Mohill player then slipped two goals over St Joseph’s goalie Sandra Canning head, both from 30 metre frees.

St Joseph’s had a lot of possession but Mohill’s defence was tight with Aileen Flynn and Olivia Gilmartin deflecting a lot of ball and Mairead Stenson covering well as St. Joseph’s were being well served by Clare Owens, Sharon Kerrigan & Carmel McGovern.

Aine Heslin replaced Catherine Dolan in the forward line before the end of the half but Mohill held a 2-3 to 1-1 lead at the interval. St. Joseph’s came out a different team in the second half with Aine Heslin hitting three point and Owens and McGovern also on target.

Emma Tuthill temporarily halted the flow of St. Joseph’s scores with a Mohill point but St. Joseph’s looked in control when Siobhan McCartin blasted the ball into the back of the Mohill net.

But Mohill were not to be found wanting as Mairead Stenson and Lorraine McDermott combined to set up Caoimhe McGuinness for a third goal, putting Mohill two points clear.

St. Joseph’s closed the gap with a Deirdre Moran point before County stars Kiara Keegan and Sharon Kerrigan both just missed chances for their teams. With time almost up, Deirdre Moran pointed a free to send the game to extra-time.

Mohill were first off the mark in extra-time with Caoimhe McGuinness & Lorna McDermott pointing but St. Joseph’s looked in control when they were awarded a penalty, unfortunately for them, Aine Heslin’s shot went wide and the chance was lost.

Charlene Mulligan brilliantly blocked Carmel McGovern’s shot was blocked before Talitta Quinn’s pass saw McGuinness fouled, the young forward converting the free to leave them three clear.

St. Joseph’s hopes of another come-back were dealt a blow when Grainne O’Malley was badly injured in a collision and Mohill held out for a famous victory.


Kate O’Neill, Talitta Quinn, Lorraine McDermott, Olivia Gilmartin, Aileen Flynn, Mairead Stenson, Charlene Mulligan 8. Deirdre Ward, Kiera Keegan, Caoimhe Canning, Lorna McDermott, Nicole Higgins, Clare Berne, Emma Tuthill, Caoimhe McGuinness, Kathy Keegan, Michelle Beirne, Colette Gannon, Lorraine Murray

St Joseph’s

Sandra Canning, Vanessa Gallogly, Ciara Gray, Marina Gray, Fionnuala Bohan, Siobhan McCartin, Yvonne Brady, Alanna Bohan, Clare Owens, Deirdre Moran, Michelle Heslin, Lorraine Moran, Carmel McGovern, Sharon Kerrigan, Catherine Dolan. Subs: Rachel Bohan, Grainne O’Malley, Aine Heslin, Louise Mollahan, Carmel McCartin, Philippa Maguire, Elaine McGovern, Lisa McDermott, Kelly O’Rourke, Aoife Ni Mhaille, Sealin O’Rourke, Lorraine Maguire, Lorraine Heslin, Bronagh O’Rourke, Shannon O’Rourke, Niamh Maguire, Ciara Maguire, Emer Masterson, Laura Beirne, Niamh Masterson, Lucy Ann McDermott, Kate Reilly.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.