23 May 2022

Carrick record cup quarter final victory over Corinthians


Carrick record cup quarter final victory over Corinthians

Carrick made the long journey west to take on Corinthians at Corinthian Park on Sunday afternoon. With underfoot conditions particularly challenging and a strong breeze Carrick elected to play with the wind in the fist half.

The visitors started quite sluggishly with a number of uncharacteristic handling errors to the frustration of coaches McKeon and McGuinness. However Carrick slowly came into the game and on 23 minutes after a huge surge by Darrach Patterson the ageless Sean Hynes dived over in the corner to give the visitors a five point lead.

On 29 minutes Carrick won a scrum penalty inside the opposition 22 and from the base of the scrum the outstanding Patterson crashed over with Ruairi King adding the extras to leave the visitors 12 points ahead as the first half was coming to a conclusion.

Unfortunately Carrick lost the talismanic figure of Dermot Foley to a shoulder injury and in the last play of the first half the home side scored to leave the score at halftime 12 to 7 to the visitors.

The Carrick men started the second half with the centre partnership of John Healy and Stephen Guckian beginning to dominate the midfield exchanges. On 47 minutes after a huge carry from Healy, Carrick recycled position and moved the ball wide for the outstanding McCaffrey to score in the corner with King adding the extras to leave the visitors up by 12.

On 53 minutes Brendan Davis crashed over to give the Carrick men their fourth try after a typically swashbuckling carry from Joaquin Cueto Puento. Carrick were now beginning to enjoy themselves and some wonderful interplay between Conor Glancy and Patterson who then offloaded to Sean Hynes to score Carrick’s 5th try of the day.

Some ill discipline allowed the home side in for a try before replacement scrum half Sean Lenihan sniped in under the posts to leave the final score 38 to 21 to the Carrick men and set up a home semi final date against OLBC on March 27.

Carrick: Aaron Sharkey, Dean Flanagan, Stephen Guckian, John Healy, Brian Finn, Conor Glancy, Ruairi King, Shane McGuinness (c), Brendan Flannery, Gavin Kelly, Sean Hynes, Denis McCaffrey, Dermot Foley, Joaquin Cueto Puente, Darrach Patterson. Subs: James Og Maguire, Gearoid Barry, Sean Lenihan, Robbie Davis, Shane Sharkey, Ian Cullen, Brody Whyte, Brendan Davis, Kieran Murray

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.